RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- June 4, 2017

04 Jun

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

The Queen's HandbagThe Queen’s Handbag by Steve Antony
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun sequel that takes readers through the UK as the queen chases the crook who stole her handbag.
View all my reviews

SeedfolksSeedfolks by Paul Fleischman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this for awhile and again especial after reading the picture book Green Green by Marie and Baldev Lamba. While I don’t have a green thumb and don’t really like getting my hands dirty, the idea of community gardens fascinates me. Here we have a whole garden variety of characters and we learn their individual reasons for taking part. There’s no big conflict really just the problems each person has although there is the overarching storyline of watching the garden grow through summer and fall and kind of have it die away during winter and the eventual return of spring. For some reason, I (mistakenly) thought this would be good for lower elementary graders so I was a little bit thrown to read some passages. This diverse read would be good for 5th grade and up.
View all my reviews

This was a reread for our Kids Book Club at work. It was as good- if not better- than the first time.
Circus MirandusCircus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
This is the story of a boy, Micah, whose grandpa is very sick. His grandpa, as a child, met a magician who owes him a favor. It’s up to Micah to find the secret Circus Mirandus where the mysterious Lightbender lives and get him to grant the miracle for his grandpa.

As a fan of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, I loved the setting and characters of this book. Actually, I loved everything about Circus Mirandus.

I gravitate towards everyday characters who are faced with unusual situations. I tend to like characters who have a strong moral compass but aren’t goody-two-shoes. And Micah definitely fits those descriptions. His friendship with Jenny doesn’t seem forced. They quite complement one another. His relationship with his grandfather is admirable.

The pacing of the story is seamless. The chapters revealing the backstory don’t interrupt the flow at all. The story ends in a way that provides closure but makes you want more.

Even when things don’t work out the way you expect them, you’ll still end up believing in the power of miracles, in magic.
View all my reviews

I listened to this on audiobook as a reread. The production was a bit odd since I think they just transferred it from cassettes because there would be a narrator saying “Side 1” and “Side 2.” But the actual book was narrated by Ane Lamott which was cool.
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and LifeBird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Bird by Bird was probably the most hilarious book on writing and life I’ve ever read. From page one, Anne Lamott entertained and educated, successfully mixing advice with her personal experiences. Her words did not sugarcoat the difficulty of writing and publishing. And she didn’t try to be outrageous or obnoxious in how she presented her opinions on things. Her voice was unique and refreshing. For any writer, aspiring or published, this is a great read.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- June 4, 2017

  1. cweichel

    June 4, 2017 at 9:58 pm

    I haven’t read Seedfolks, but after reading your reflections, I sure want to. I agree with you regarding Circus Mirandus and Bird by Bird. Anne Lamott’s book is full of great advice for writers and everyone else.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    June 5, 2017 at 9:28 am

    Seedfolks looks lovely, we have a lot of community gardens around the city, and they’re a part of life for lots of kids here!

    Bird by Bird sounds like a great title – I tend to shy away from books on writing simply because I’ve read a few that just felt too preachy. A sense of humour and a realistic approach sounds right up my alley!

     
  3. Michele

    June 5, 2017 at 11:06 am

    I would like to do a reread of CM too. Loved that book. I have her new book that pubs in August in my stack. Looking forward to her words.

     
  4. Tara Smith

    June 5, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    I return to Bird by Bird for it’s wisdom and hilarity so often. Seedfolks is a really thoughtful, wonderful book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
