RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- June 11, 2017

11 Jun

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Out!Out! by Arree Chung
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Good Dog, Carl may enjoy this silly tale of a dog trying to keep a baby out of harm’s way only to get himself in trouble. I liked that every part of this book seemed to be used to tell the story.

View all my reviews

Skin AgainSkin Again by bell hooks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another great collaboration between Bell Hooks and Chris Raschka this time encouraging readers to look beyond the color of one’s skin and get to know the real person.

View all my reviews

Ricky's Atlas: Mapping a Land on FireRicky’s Atlas: Mapping a Land on Fire by Judith L. Li
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This isn’t a book I normally would have picked up but I someone had recommended the first book in the series- Ellie’s Log- because it was an Oregon based author with the story taking place in the Pacific Northwest. It’s a fun way to introduce readers into nature journaling. In this instance, a forest fire has Ricky and his family and friends on high alert. And they help keep track of the before-and-after of this event.

View all my reviews

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating PoetsOut of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A celebration of poets who have affected the lives of these three contributing writers. Mini biographies are included at the end. What I liked about this- besides the gorgeous illustrations which are stunning- is that each of the poems are in the style of the poets and has references to their more famous works if you’re familiar with them.

View all my reviews

The Rainbow Comes and Goes: A Mother and Son On Life, Love, and LossThe Rainbow Comes and Goes: A Mother and Son On Life, Love, and Loss by Anderson Cooper
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I listened to the audio book of this and I really enjoyed the production.

Gloria Vanderbilt had a very theatrical quality with her narration which was amusingly in contrast to Anderson Cooper’s dry newscaster delivery.

The book provides a glimpse into a dynamic relationship between a parent and child that will make readers want to develop a similar relationship with their own family to (re)discover stories that helped shape their lives.

And what a life Gloria has led! It was sensational and almost unbelievable with moments of success and triumphs as well as devastating losses. To get to look back at her long life and share her stories and insights has been a real treat.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- June 11, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    June 11, 2017 at 8:15 pm

    I’m desperately waiting for Out of Wonder to arrive at my library – we always get things so much later here in Canada! 😥

     
  2. Karen Yingling

    June 12, 2017 at 4:54 am

    Solo has finally made it to the top of my pile; goodness knows that Booked and The Crossover are very popular in my library. Great Reading Week!

     
  3. Michele

    June 12, 2017 at 7:52 am

    I’m looking forward to the next Arree Chung book, I enjoy his sense of humor and illustrations.

     
  4. cweichel

    June 12, 2017 at 9:10 am

    I am a big fan of all the Carl books, so I must read Out! All the rest of these look great too. I’m interested in Riky’s Atlas because one of my favourite wilderness camping places was destroyed by fire. It’s been fascinating to return every year and see how things change.

     
  5. Crystal

    June 16, 2017 at 9:39 am

    Skin Again and Out of Wonder are two I really enjoyed. I will look for The Rainbow Comes and Goes. It sounds fascinating. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
