RSS

Writing Entry #2

19 Jun

It’s been awhile since I shared what’s been going on with my writing– about a year and half ago, in fact!

There’s definitely been ups and downs. The downs are the same monsters that plague everyone.

Insecurity.
Laziness.
Lack of energy/motivation.
Fear of not being good enough.
Fear of not having anything (worthy/worthwhile) to say.
Fear of rejection.

And these are big hard to get rid of monsters that may never completely go away but sometimes they can be forced to retreat for awhile.

One of the ups in my writing is the realization that we all have stories to tell and it’s more important more than ever to share them. And we have to find the stories within ourselves that only we can tell.

Another realization that I shared awhile back: I am going to make writing something fun I want to do again and not this thing that causes me stress and anxiety.

For the actual progress report…

Of all the story ideas I’ve come up with over the years, there have been at least a handful that are begging to be told first- including the picture book manuscript I mentioned in the first writing entry.

It’s been amazing how that manuscript has continued to evolve over time and I do feel it’s just getting better with each revision.

I have finally steeled myself to start looking for an agent. It’s actually been kind of fun. And, while I wait to hear any sort of response, I will continue writing.

Until next time…

 

One response to “Writing Entry #2

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    June 26, 2017 at 10:36 am

    Oh, those writing monsters! I think the one I fear the most is rejection – I take everything so personally, and the first hint of rejection makes me crumple up into a self-loathing ball of self-doubt. But, I try to remember all those successful authors who received more rejections than they could count, like J. K. Rowling and Stephen King, so, in the end, having rejections means I’m joining the real writing community, right? 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
