RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 2, 2017

02 Jul

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

I schedule this post before I went on vacation so the links aren’t up but I’m sure you can figure them out. Also, Ricki from Unleashing Readers mentioned that her comments weren’t going through on my blog. If that’s happening to you as well, hit me up on Twitter or the Facebook page! Thanks!

Pan de Sal Saves the Day: A Filipino Children's StoryPan de Sal Saves the Day: A Filipino Children’s Story by Norma Olizon-Chikiamco
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An English/Filipino bilingual picture book about a girl who learns to appreciate being herself. Set in school in the Philippines, all the kids are named after different types of breads and pastries. The tale is kind of like a mix between Chrysanthemum and Yoko.
View all my reviews

I Wrote You a NoteI Wrote You a Note by Lizi Boyd
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Delightful story of a wind-swept note and how it’s used by the various creatures who finds it. The illustrations are worth poring over to catch all the details she put in.
View all my reviews

Where Are You?Where Are You? by Sarah Williamson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A very simple hide and seek story between two friends. This might have been better as a board book.
View all my reviews

LifeLife by Cynthia Rylant
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A contemplative book about the wonders of life, both the light and dark of it, paired with beautiful illustrations.
View all my reviews

Snail and Worm AgainSnail and Worm Again by Tina Kugler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Stepping up the oddball humor from the first offering, this is a delightful series for fans of Elephant & Piggie!
View all my reviews

A New School Year: Stories in Six VoicesA New School Year: Stories in Six Voices by Sally Derby
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I simply adored this book. Six kids. Six grades. Six stories. From the night before to after the first day of school, we get snapshots of their lives as they deal with their individual worries and fears as well as their expectations and lessons learned. Told in verse. And the art is wonderful!
View all my reviews

Louie Lets Loose! (Unicorn in New York, #1)Louie Lets Loose! by Rachel Hamilton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Silly new early chapter book series about theatrical magical creatures. Louie the Unicorn decides to go to New York to pursue his dreams of being a star but he doesn’t realize that another unicorn may not want to share the spotlight with him. Think Glee and Tim Federle’s Nate books.

What’s weird about this UK import is that the illustrator doesn’t really get mentioned in the credits. At least, he doesn’t have a dedication nor a short bio on the back of the book. The art is in the style of a less-consistent Knuffle Bunny.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 2, 2017

  1. cweichel

    July 3, 2017 at 11:22 am

    I’m looking forward to reading Life. It’s not yet on order in my library, but I expect it will soon be since Cynthia Rylant is a local author. I Wrote You a Note is on order so I’m looking forward to that one.

     
  2. lindabaie

    July 3, 2017 at 3:33 pm

    A New School Year will be wonderful for the granddaughters, both starting & new grades! Pan de Sal Saves The Day & I Wrote You A Note both sound good, too, Earl. Thank you! I shared Life today too, a beauty! Enjoy your vacation!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    July 3, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    I’m also really looking forward to “Life”, it looks just beautiful.

     
  4. aaroncleaveley

    July 4, 2017 at 9:52 pm

    Also looking forward to Life, and also going to look up Snail and Worm. Thanks for the post!

     
  5. Michele

    July 5, 2017 at 7:34 am

    You’ve got a couple on here that I’ve been wondering about – A New School Year and Louie Lets Loose. Looks like I’ll have to check them out soon.

     
  6. Myra GB

    July 5, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    Life has been receiving so much love lately! I have to get my hands on it soonest! 🙂 I like the Pan de Sal book too, have to find that one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
