RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 16, 2017

16 Jul

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Niko Draws a FeelingNiko Draws a Feeling by Bob Raczka
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is a great picture book for all the creative types- both young and old. Seeing the world in a different way may leave you feeling lonely and set apart from others but when you meet a kindred spirit, it’s an amazing feeling.

Don’t give up. Find your team.

Great to pair with Be a Friend by Salina Yoon.
View all my reviews

Chengdu Can DoChengdu Can Do by Barney Saltzberg
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I enjoyed this more than the first Chengdu book. It’s a fun book to read with toddlers who are just discovering their ability to do things. It’s a nice lesson for them that while they can do many things, there are times they still need help from others. The flaps were a nice addition to the storytelling.
View all my reviews

NowNow by Antoinette Portis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A sweet simple book that celebrates enjoying the moment.
View all my reviews

What Does Baby Want?What Does Baby Want? by Tupera Tupera
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A surprisingly designed book about breastfeeding!
View all my reviews

WishtreeWishtree by Katherine Applegate
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Katherine Applegate manages to write stories that will resonate with both kids and adults. Wishtree is no exception creating a memorable character and an unforgettable story.

Sometimes you can read more into a story than there really is. Sometimes a tree is just a tree even if it’s a wishtree. Sometimes a tree can stand for America and each of us represents a wish tied in its branches. And when the tree is in danger of being torn down or destroyed, we have to do our parts to ensure it remains strong and proud, rooted in its rich and diverse history and branching out in ways that can accommodate a future that we can all call home.
View all my reviews

The Unbreakable Code (Book Scavenger, #2)The Unbreakable Code by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Continuing right after the first Book Scavenger, Emily and James suddenly find themselves into another adventure involving a Mark Twain treasure somewhere in San Francisco. This time, the stakes are higher when there’s a mysterious stranger starting fires where books have been hidden and the two friends find themselves in the middle of helping set up the school dance!

The story may have been a little slow going for my taste but there’s plenty of things going for it that will keep readers turning pages.

I love that the setting was in San Francisco where I grew up and recently visited. It was cool when they mentioned places I’ve been to and I definitely want to check out some other places on a future trip. I liked being able to solve the codes in the book, too. And I can’t wait for the next book in the trilogy!
View all my reviews

New Super-Man, Volume 1: Made in China (New Super-man Rebirth, #1)New Super-Man, Volume 1: Made in China by Gene Luen Yang
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’m not much of a fan of traditional superhero comics and I probably wouldn’t have picked this up if it wasn’t written by my favorite graphic novelist ever.

These five collected issues brings something new to a familiar story and offers plenty of character growth, action, and twists to leave me wanting more.
View all my reviews

The Serpent KingThe Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I wasn’t going to read this because I thought it was a YA dystopian novel. Then I wasn’t going to continue reading it because one of the main characters was a moody skinny guy unaware of his attractiveness.

But fortunately, this was the only audiobook that was available to download and I actually enjoyed the story once it got going. Once I could understand why these supposed friends were actual friends in the first place.

But with all YA novels, I get a growing dread I’m hurtling towards a death scene and this was no different. To avoid spoiling anything, I won’t mention if anyone even died or how many or if a piece of fish was involved. You won’t get any spoilers from me.

I was really impressed by the narrators- some more than the others. It was interesting to hear how the characters were voiced when done by other actors. They almost made it seem like the story was written by three different authors which is a major kudos to Jeff Zentner creating such real and distinct characters.

I was surprised by how much I ended up enjoying this novel despite all the problems I had with it. I really hate the title and the whole plot relating to it. I wish that was something else. The book could have ended sooner, too. Oh, and it’s pretty depressing which may be difficult to get through for some people considering how pretty depressing real life can get.

If you want a book to make you think and feel and find someone else who has read it, The Serpent King is for you!
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 16, 2017

  1. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    July 17, 2017 at 10:16 am

    I’m anxious to read Wishtree. I’ve heard nothing but great things.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    July 17, 2017 at 11:17 am

    I’ve had that same kind of conflicted relationship with a book too, where I’ve hated so many aspects of it, and can name more negative qualities to it than positive ones, and still, despite all this, really enjoyed it! Books can be so surprising that way, but I guess it makes sense, since books are created by people, and people can be just as surprising and complex!

     
  3. carriegelson

    July 17, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    I recently read Serpent King as well. It was a pleasant surprise in terms of how much I enjoyed it. I agree with you about disliking the plot around the serpents.

     
  4. aaroncleaveley

    July 17, 2017 at 4:18 pm

    I am also looking forward to reading Wishtree and was happy to read about the second Book Scavenger title here too. I read the first but have yet to make time for #2, maybe I will soon.

     
  5. cweichel

    July 17, 2017 at 8:15 pm

    I am waiting as patiently as I can for my library to get Wishtree. I’ve waffled back and forth about whether or not to read The Serpent King. I think I’ll wait until there is nothing else I can download.

     
  6. Michele

    July 19, 2017 at 6:58 pm

    I was hesitant in starting Wishtree. I had heard nothing but positives and sometimes that only leaves room for a letdown. But just like everyone else, I absolutely loved it. Can’t wait to share it this fall.
    I’ve been trying to find NOW and the libraries don’t seem to have it. Hope it gets ordered soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
