RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- July 19, 2017

19 Jul

nfpb2017

Her Right FootHer Right Foot by Dave Eggers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars<
This book is worth your read. Surprising in how it manages to talk about what you know it's going to talk about (the Statue of Liberty) but manages to talk about something relevant and important. I read an unbound advanced copy and I can't wait to see the finished product.
View all my reviews

Shark Lady: The True Story of How Eugenie Clark Became the Ocean's Most Fearless ScientistShark Lady: The True Story of How Eugenie Clark Became the Ocean’s Most Fearless Scientist by Jess Keating
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Another winning nonfiction picture book about someone who was told she couldn’t do what she wanted but not only did she defy them but broke new grounds with her discoveries and paved the way for other female scientists.
View all my reviews

John Lewis in the Lead: A Story of the Civil Rights MovementJohn Lewis in the Lead: A Story of the Civil Rights Movement by James Haskins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Congressman John Lewis is truly a hero. I was glad I stumbled upon this picture book biography. After reading the March trilogy and Preaching to the Chickens, I was curious to see which events would be repeated and which would be skipped to fit this format. It covered the salient points and I even learned some new incident from his past- the storm at his aunt’s house.

I wasn’t particularly thrilled by the illustrations with this one. Subject matter wise, after reading this, I was extremely pleased to discover this was published by Lee & Low way before the popularity of March. I’m super impressed with their mission and that they manage to accomplish it by the books they put out!

View all my reviews

A Picture Book of Martin Luther King, Jr.A Picture Book of Martin Luther King, Jr. by David A. Adler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I thought this was going to be a super dry biography because it was published quite awhile ago but fortunately I was wrong. I mean it wasn’t spectacular but it told the life of a (hopefully, now common) historical figure. I even liked the illustrations.

I would want to read David A. Adler’s other titles in his Picture Book Biography series.
View all my reviews

How a Book Is MadeHow a Book Is Made by Aliki
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Although about three decades old, this glimpse of the publishing industry was fascinating. I appreciated the fact that it depicted it as a long process full of frustration, hard work, dedication, and worthy of celebration once completed.
View all my reviews

A Time to Act: John F. Kennedy's Big SpeechA Time to Act: John F. Kennedy’s Big Speech by Shana Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this since it came out. I loved the message that even our best intentions sometimes we need to push through to make effective positive changes. We’re all human after all and we may procrastinate and we may want to wait for others to lead the way, but ultimately we have to look inside ourselves when it’s time to act. Here we see a man in probably the most powerful position who had to make tough decisions. He may not have acted in a timelier manner but ultimately he did.

Here’s a link to the speech this book is about: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QilQc…
View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- July 19, 2017

  1. Sandy Brehl

    July 20, 2017 at 10:26 am

    I appreciate seeing older titles among your featured reviews. Alike’s book, HOW A BOOK IS MADE, is one I gift to family and friends regularly, and the response is always positive- intrigue, excitement, and awe. Often the one who receives it begins making physical books of his/her own!

     
  2. Michele

    July 20, 2017 at 2:46 pm

    I have got to read the March trilogy! Graphic novels are hard for me to read, I get impatient with the illustrations, so I keep putting this one off. I need to change that!
    I’m really interested in seeing Her Right Foot. Wondering what grade levels I could use it with.

     

Leave a Reply

 
