RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 23, 2017

23 Jul

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

When's My Birthday?When’s My Birthday? by Julie Fogliano
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love birthdays and I love Christian Robinson’s artwork so naturally I loved this picture book which perfectly captures the excitement of one of children’s most favorite days!

Lexie the Word WranglerLexie the Word Wrangler by Rebecca Van Slyke
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Full of wordplay, this picture book will be most enjoyed by word lovers and anyone who can appreciate good puns.

In My WorldIn My World by Jillian Ma
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A look inside an autistic child’s inner world and the struggle to share that with others.

If Apples Had TeethIf Apples Had Teeth by Shirley Glaser
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Absurdist humor both in text and illustrations that readers of all ages can enjoy!

Littles: And How They GrowLittles: And How They Grow by Kelly DiPucchio
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A sweet and sentimental look at babies- the care and management of them and the way they tend to grow up before you.

Missile Mouse #1 The Star CrusherMissile Mouse #1 The Star Crusher by Jake Parker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of Guardians of the Galaxy will enjoy this action packed graphic novel adventure. Readers will enjoy the twists and the cool things that happen. I wish I had the sequel on hand to read right away!

Zinnia and the BeesZinnia and the Bees by Danielle Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Keep this debut middle grade novel from This Picture Book Life blogger Danielle Davis on your radar. Zinnia is not having a great start to her summer. She gets in trouble the last day of school for her yarn bombing antics. Her brother goes AWOL leaving her alone with her very strict mother and an unwanted new dog. To literally top things off, a hive of wayward bees have made a home in her hair.

It’s a unique coming of age and coming to terms story that alternates perspectives between Zinnia and the bees.

Sprout Street Neighbors: A New ArrivalSprout Street Neighbors: A New Arrival by Anna Alter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved the first installment so I don’t know why I waited so long to read the follow-up. The Sprout Street Neighbors welcome a new tenant into the fold and it causes many different and sometimes surprising reactions. I highly recommend this series as a read aloud because kids will enjoy the adventures and adults will be enthralled with the storytelling as well.

Sprout Street Neighbors: Bon VoyageSprout Street Neighbors: Bon Voyage by Anna Alter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this delightful third installment, they leave the confines of their homes- some more willingly than others- to go off on adventure in Paris!

I hope this isn’t the end of the series!

My Brother's Husband, Volume 1My Brother’s Husband, Volume 1 by Gengoroh Tagame
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was not my typical read. While I read plenty of graphic novels, I don’t really venture into manga territory. But this was getting lots of buzz based on my interests in LGBT works. I enjoyed the sensibility and style from manga-style storytelling.

A divorced dad gets an unexpected visit from his dead twin’s Canadian husband. Trying to make sense of his brother’s lifestyle which caused a rift between them, he also ends up having to deal with other people’s negative reactions to his gay brother-in-law.

The only downside of reading this now is that I don’t know when Volume 2 comes out.

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 23, 2017

  1. Michele

    July 24, 2017 at 8:32 am

    You have so many books on your list that I’m looking forward to – Littles, Zinnia, If, Birthday…. Looks like some great late summer/early fall reading coming our way!

     
  2. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    July 24, 2017 at 3:38 pm

    In My World sounds like an important book. Missile Mouse is popular with many of my students.

     
  3. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    July 24, 2017 at 6:08 pm

    Looks like you had a great reading week! A lot of 4 stars!
    I own a Missile Mouse book, but not the first one–I need to fix that.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  4. lindabaie

    July 24, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    I do appreciate how you share books that are so new, Earl. In My World is one I want to find, and I will keep that Zinnia girl on my list, too. Thanks!

     
  5. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    July 25, 2017 at 9:48 am

    Oh, Sprout Street Neighbors looks adorable!

    I’m really curious about My Brother’s Husband, I’m going to look out for that one for sure.

    Have a great week!

     
  6. cweichel

    July 27, 2017 at 7:08 am

    I’ve added The Sprout Street Series to my list. I think I might have to purchase Littles: And How They Grow because I’ve got two grandbabies to monitor these days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
