RSS

#CelebrateLU- July 28, 2017

27 Jul
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

July 26th was my five-year anniversary at Green Bean Books.

I would have wanted to do something to celebrate but honestly I’ve just been so tired lately. Part of it is due to work and the other is because of the constant attack on what America is and should be. It’s hard to compartmentalize things nowadays but maybe as Readers it’s in our blood to want to strive not necessarily for a happy ending but for a narrative in our world that values kindness, compassion, friendship, and diversity that we read in books.

Wednesday started out fine. I was still tired from the day before helping out an educator select about sixty titles for a literacy program she was going to be involved with. I’d been wondering recently (half jokingly) if I was doing this bookselling job all wrong. I shouldn’t be so exhausted recommending books. Of course, I loved being part of selecting the books and thrilled she came to us. But having to booktalk so many titles wore me out.

On my way to work, I randomly ran across a customer who just wanted to say how much he appreciated the store and what we did. I wish I hadn’t been wolfing down a breakfast burrito because I loved hearing that!

I knew it was going to be a full day what with my regular tasks and two events bookending it. The first was a special storytime in the morning (which I fortunately didn’t have to do anything but help prepare the craft for it) and then I had our monthly Kids Book Club to moderate in the late afternoon. I dread having to speak in front of any group of people. Plus, I wish I had more time to come up with questions. And then I was freaked out when I saw one- and then another- book clubber holding the second book in the graphic novel series. The official book club pick was the first title in the series. Fortunately, I had read both books so I was able to wing it. The kids were regulars and they impressed me with their abilities to help the book club run smoothly. We even talked about our frustration with certain people who didn’t treat graphic novels as legitimate reading!

Looking back at that day, it was sort of a perfect way to celebrate my work anniversary. I was just there- a lucky guy who gets to work at this amazing place with a wonderful boss and awesome co-workers and having these incredible connections with people through our mutual love of books because we know they contain the secrets to make the world we live in a kinder, more beautiful place.

 

7 responses to “#CelebrateLU- July 28, 2017

  1. payanar100

    July 29, 2017 at 1:00 pm

    I agree that as readers we do hope to have our world be that kinder, gentler universe. I love that idea that books hold the secret to finding that space. I think we also are lucky when we are able to find communities of people, such as the people in your bookstore, who exhibit some of those qualities we hope to find in everyone. Happy anniversary at the store!

     
  2. Diane Anderson (newtreemom)

    July 29, 2017 at 1:08 pm

    Happy work anniversary! Glad you feel lucky to be there… it always does sound like a great place when you write about it. Books are one of the keys to a better world!

     
  3. lindabaie

    July 29, 2017 at 3:28 pm

    Many of us are feeling challenged by this crazy time in our politics, Earl, but I do celebrate the many, like you, who are sharing all they can share to make the world better. Despite the tiredness, you kept on and did so much. Happy Work Anniversary. I hope you’re having a restful weekend too!

     
  4. Terje

    July 30, 2017 at 12:04 am

    Happy work anniversary! Your last line shows so much appreciation. for what you have, where you are and what you do.

     
  5. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    July 30, 2017 at 10:06 pm

    It’s not everyone who gets to say that they love their jobs – we’re part of the lucky few! Congrats on the work anniversary, and keep up the important work connecting people with great books!

     
  6. Ramona

    July 31, 2017 at 6:44 am

    Congrats on your work anniversary! It was fun to read how the day filled you with joy, despite the tiredness you felt. And I’m wondering what title you read in the Kids Book Club. I’m still hoping to make it to Portland one of these days to visit and Green Bean Books is on my list of stops to make.

     
  7. crbrunelle

    July 31, 2017 at 9:56 am

    Congratulations on being there so many years. I’m sorry you’re feeling tired. Many are right now. It’s a challenging time. I wish you many more days full of lovely books and connecting with readers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
