RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 30, 2017

30 Jul

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week– Celebrating my five-year work anniversary.

ClaymatesClaymates by Dev Petty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of my favorite picture books of the year and also one I want to win a Caldecott. Great fun concept of what two balls of clay can be. I would love to see a behind the scenes video of this book was made!

Hand Over HandHand Over Hand by Alma Fullerton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A girl wants to fish with her grandfather but, in their small village in the Philippines, the people say a girl doesn’t belong in a boat but on the shore. With her grandfather’s permission and help, she spends the day out on the bay- waiting, waiting. Will she catch a fish? Can she prove the naysayers wrong?

A Walk in the ForestA Walk in the Forest by Maria Dek
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A quiet reflective book about what one can find and do in the forest. It manages to be playful as well. Perfect for nature lovers.

Whobert Whover, Owl DetectiveWhobert Whover, Owl Detective by Jason Gallaher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Super fun mystery about a bird-brain detective. The text and the illustrations are paired perfectly together.

Missile Mouse #2: Rescue On Tankium3Missile Mouse #2: Rescue On Tankium3 by Jake Parker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The intergalactic adventures of Missile Mouse continue when he uncovers the citizens of an entire planet enslaved by a greedy evil ruler. To make matters worse, an old foe is hired to take him down. Not only that- Missile Mouse must learn how to work with a group of robot agents who he thinks may be more of a liability than an asset. Hopefully there will be at least a third book in the series!

Filipino Children's Favorite StoriesFilipino Children’s Favorite Stories by Liana Romulo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I may have read this before but I still enjoyed reading this collection of fairy tales and folk tales from the Philippines. It makes me want to explore more the rich storytelling tradition of my culture and find other stories that people may enjoy!

Juana and LucasJuana and Lucas by Juana Medina
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An early chapter book about a spunky girl from Colombia. She’s not doing well learning English but can she get better in order to get to meet one of her heroes? Readers will enjoy when she shares why she loves some of her favorite things!

Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi QueenJasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this early chapter book series featuring a Japanese-American main character providing glimpses of that culture but still having enough similarities with other kids readers may already know and love.

I admit the flow was kind of rough but hopefully future books will be breezier.

La La La: A Story of HopeLa La La: A Story of Hope by Kate DiCamillo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful picture book that speaks volume. Though nearly wordless, the story and its heartwarming message is brought to life by Jaime Kim’s gorgeous art!

Publishes in October.

Draw the LineDraw the Line by Kathryn Otoshi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful wordless picture book about creativity, friendship, conflict, and resolution. Comes out in October!

All's Faire in Middle SchoolAll’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I can’t wait until September when people can get their hands on this title. It’s probably my favorite graphic novel of the year. I admit I didn’t think I would like it at first but the story and the art (even when the version I read was the unfinished Advance Reading Copy) won me over. This is a great coming of age story that takes place half in middle school and the other in a Renaissance Faire. The main character (Impy) decides to go to public school after years of homeschooling and she has to figure out how to fit in without losing herself. She is also a knight in training at the Faire where she realizes the dragons we face in life may not be who they really are. The conflicts she has in school, at the Faire and with her family manage to be heartbreaking and familiar. This will be great for book clubs and classroom discussions a well!

SoloSolo by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kwame Alexander works his magic for a young adult crowd, partnering once again with Mary Rand Hess. Being part of a rock and roll family might seem like the good life but Blade knows too well not all that glitters is gold. With a father who crashes and burns more often than not and a girlfriend who may not be quite into him as he is with her, he relies on music to get him through the tough times. But after a family secret comes out, he finds himself halfway around the world to discover what’s real and what isn’t in his life. A beautiful lyrical book. I particularly loved the poem “Konko.” And I need to check if the publisher or the authors have compiled the songs mentioned in the book into a playlist.

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 30, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    July 30, 2017 at 10:02 pm

    Ahhhh, I’m so excited for All’s Faire in Middle School!!! I have some major graphic novel fanatics here at the library, and I can’t wait to share this with them.

     
  2. lindabaie

    July 31, 2017 at 9:16 am

    So many that look good, Earl! I’m glad you found Hand Over Hand, will look for the Filipino fairy stories! I’d love to read Solo and La La La, soon!

     
  3. crbrunelle

    July 31, 2017 at 10:56 am

    I loved Draw the Line and really enjoyed Solo. Claymates had me laughing out loud. I’m excited to read All’s Faire & La La La. I hadn’t heard of A Walk in the Forest, but it sounds wonderful. You have a lot of great titles here. 🙂

     
  4. aaroncleaveley

    July 31, 2017 at 5:10 pm

    I have also been excited to read All’s Faire, having really loved Roller Girl. Solo looks really great too, and a few of the pic books are being added to my TBR. Thanks for the great post!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    July 31, 2017 at 6:55 pm

    Another great reading week for you! I loved All’s Faire, La La, and Claymates as well. I have Solo to read soon–I am looking forward to it!

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  6. Lorraine Brontë Magee

    August 1, 2017 at 3:12 pm

    I read Draw the Line at #ILA17, and LOVED it. I’ve been looking to expand my wordless picture book collection, so it’s a must-add! I’ve also heard a lot about All’s Faire – can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

     
  7. Michele

    August 2, 2017 at 6:05 am

    I agree – I really think Claymates is a contender for Caldecott.
    I just picked up Solo, looks fantastic.
    Lots of other books are on my list – Draw the Line and I want more time with La La La.

     

Leave a Reply

 
