RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- August 6, 2017

06 Aug

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

I Have the Right to Be a ChildI Have the Right to Be a Child by Alain Serres
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great introduction of the United Nations’ Convention on the Rights of the Child. I didn’t even know there was such a thing and that the US isn’t one of the countries who’ve signed it. It would be interesting to explore how it’s going in the countries measuring this.

I Like, I Don't LikeI Like, I Don’t Like by Anna Baccelliere
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a great find after reading I Have the Right to Be a Child. Though simple in presentation, there are a lot to be thought about and discussed while reading through the book. It’s a great tool to use for anyone wanting to think outside of their own experience.

Princess Truly in I Am TrulyPrincess Truly in I Am Truly by Kelly Greenawalt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of Fancy Nancy and I Like Myself will love this self-affirming picture book about a confident girl who imagines she can be anyone she wants to be and do anything she wants to do. Plus, she lets others know that they too can be truly fabulous!

Boo Who?Boo Who? by Ben Clanton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A delightful friendship story. Perfect for young readers year-round not just during Halloween.

Grimm's Fairy TalesGrimm’s Fairy Tales by Jacob Grimm
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of audiobooks will be thrilled to discover some of the best narrators have been compiled to read some of Grimm’s Fairy Tales. People may be surprised by how different the original versions are to what may have popularized by mainstream media.

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- August 6, 2017

  1. Michele

    August 7, 2017 at 7:14 am

    Boo Who? looks super fun! Looking forward to that one.

     
  2. cweichel

    August 7, 2017 at 7:15 am

    I love I Have the Right to Be a Child. I ended up purchasing a couple of copies for my grandchildren’s parents. That audiobook of Grimm’s Fairy Tales sounds wonderful. When my boys were younger we used to listen to The Just So Stories narrated by Jack Nicholson while travelling. His voice was perfect for hem.

     
  3. lindabaie

    August 7, 2017 at 7:35 am

    I enjoyed “I Like I Don’t Like” very much, will start some good conversations! Thanks for Boo Hoo, will look for it, Earl! Have a wonderful “reading” week!

     
  4. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    August 7, 2017 at 3:54 pm

    I didn’t know about the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child either. I’ll have to get the book to learn about it.

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    August 7, 2017 at 5:44 pm

    Wasn’t the Grimm audiobook so good?!?! I also loved Boo Who.
    Thank you for sharing I Have the Right… I didn’t know about it or the UN Convention. I love learning from you 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  6. Jana Eschner (@JanaTheTeacher)

    August 7, 2017 at 8:30 pm

    The Princess Truly book would be fun to share with young readers! It’s a good book to help kids develop a growth mindset. Have a great week!

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 7, 2017 at 10:11 pm

    Boo Who? looks adorable! I will add it to my list. Thank you!

     
  8. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 8, 2017 at 9:31 am

    Wow, sounds like a pretty good week, a lot of high ratings! I love Ben Clanton, so I’ve gone and put a hold on Boo Who? right away!

     

Leave a Reply

 
