RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- August 9, 2017

09 Aug

nfpb2017

 Ruth Bader Ginsburg: The Case of R.B.G. vs. InequalityRuth Bader Ginsburg: The Case of R.B.G. vs. Inequality by Jonah Winter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a great example why 2017 is the year of nonfiction picture books.*

Presented as a case trial (including exhibits), readers get to know the obstacles RBG faced to get a higher education and to be taken seriously in her profession as a woman-and her mother. Nevertheless, she persisted. Her intelligence, work ethic, and moral compass made her not only a champion of human rights but an icon, as well. A glossary and author’s note is included in the back.

The illustrations- even the endpapers- are gorgeous. Readers will come away enjoying a great true story, learn some things, be visually taken, and will want to share this with others.

*At least, in my opinion!

I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her MarkI Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark by Debbie Levy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Great picture book biography about someone who I didn’t know much about until I became a fan of her outspokenness- and I admit the Saturday Night Live Kate McKinnon sketches. This tells the story of a girl who grew up disagreeing- not to be a contrarian but to challenge outdated ideas. As a woman, she still speaks her mind and gives voice to those who need it.

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- August 9, 2017

  1. Michele

    August 9, 2017 at 9:34 am

    I’ve seen a few people talk about the new RBG book. Looks like one to checkout!

     
  2. annettepimentel

    August 9, 2017 at 10:18 am

    I love seeing both covers next to each other!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 9, 2017 at 10:39 am

    Such a fascinating woman – I’m glad to see young people being offered strong female role models who have taken on traditionally-male roles and made them their own.

     
  4. crbrunelle

    August 9, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    Woohoo! More RBG! I’m looking forward to seeing this new one. I loved I Dissent.

     

Leave a Reply

 
