RSS

#CelebrateLU- August 18, 2017/ Kwame Alexander Reading Challenge

18 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Kwame AlexanderKwame Alexander.

mustreadin2017

One of my #MustReadin2017 reading challenges was to read all of Kwame Alexander’s books released this year- and he’s been quite prolific!

I’ll be sharing my reviews of those books plus a few others I’ve read.

I wouldn’t have thought I’d be wanting to read all of his books because I wasn’t a fan of The Crossover at all!

The CrossoverThe Crossover by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I can’t
For the life of me
See what
The buzz is all about
For this book

I’ve been known
To like
Other books
Involving sports
And I’ve been more
Tolerant
Of books
Told in verse

It just seemed
Corny
Like a haunted maze
And I couldn’t wait
For it to end

But, as you can see, I changed my tune!

BookedBooked by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This year has completely surprised me in terms of what books I’ve ended up liking. You may or may not know how I absolutely didn’t like The Crossover but I was hooked on Booked! I kept wanting to talk about it with someone.

Maybe I knew what to expect with a novel told in verse. But I think the characters were definitely more likable and relatable. And the “corny like Fritos” factor was still there but it worked with Booked.

I would have enjoyed a list of all the books mentioned in this book. And props to Kwame Alexander for being such a literacy advocate!

Surf's UpSurf’s Up by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This would make for a great summer read. Two friends have two very different ideas of how to spend a day. One wants to surf while the other wants to keep reading his book. Great for parents, educators and librarians to showcase how amazing of an adventure reading can be!

Animal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and PicturesAnimal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Haikus are paired with amazing animal photographs by Joel Sartore who’s been spotlighting disappearing, threatened or endangered species as part of Photo Ark project for National Geographic.

This stunning book includes multiple fold-out spreads, author and photographer notes as well as information about the project.

The Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called LifeThe Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called Life by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Part biography not only of Kwame Alexander’s childhood involving sports but also of other athletes, part poetry and advice, and part inspirational quotes, this is a great guidebook for teens and pre-teens. It’ll be nice to pair with 365 Days of Wonder.

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating PoetsOut of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A celebration of poets who have affected the lives of these three contributing writers. Mini biographies are included at the end. What I liked about this- besides the gorgeous illustrations which are stunning- is that each of the poems are in the style of the poets and has references to their more famous works if you’re familiar with them.

SoloSolo by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kwame Alexander works his magic for a young adult crowd, partnering once again with Mary Rand Hess. Being part of a rock and roll family might seem like the good life but Blade knows too well not all that glitters is gold. With a father who crashes and burns more often than not and a girlfriend who may not be quite into him as he is with her, he relies on music to get him through the tough times. But after a family secret comes out, he finds himself halfway around the world to discover what’s real and what isn’t in his life. A beautiful lyrical book. I particularly loved the poem “Konko.” And I need to check if the publisher or the authors have compiled the songs mentioned in the book into a playlist.

He’s also included in this anthology:

Flying Lessons and Other StoriesFlying Lessons and Other Stories by Ellen Oh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great anthology that not only showcases diversity but will give readers an introduction to some of the finest YA writers around right now. I hope people will enjoy the stories and that they will reflect on their own stories- the ones that they alone can tell shaped by their unique background and culture and experiences.

 

One response to “#CelebrateLU- August 18, 2017/ Kwame Alexander Reading Challenge

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 23, 2017 at 9:03 am

    Booked was absolutely more popular here than The Crossover – basketball really isn’t a big deal in my area, but soccer? Oh my goodness, everyone loves soccer, and putting a soccer player on the front cover is pretty much guaranteed to get it in someone’s hands. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
