RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- August 30, 2017

30 Aug

nfpb2017

Pocket Full of Colors: The Magical World of Mary Blair, Disney Artist ExtraordinairePocket Full of Colors: The Magical World of Mary Blair, Disney Artist Extraordinaire by Amy Guglielmo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I think I first came across the name Mary Blair watching DVD special features on older Disney films. I would be astounded by her art usually used during concept and storyboarding stages rather than in the final products which was a shame because they were beautiful. And I’ve seen some of the stories being rereleased using her illustrations. This wonderful picture book will be great for artists because of all the colors involved. And it’s so fascinating how talent that was originally and generally overlooked was then allowed to flourish in such a creative landscape.

What Is Hip-Hop?What Is Hip-Hop? by Eric Morse
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun introduction to hip-hop and its legacy with its icons told in verse and depicted with claymation!

 

One response to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- August 30, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    August 30, 2017 at 3:11 pm

    I have Pocket Full of Colors on my list, waiting for it from the library, but the Hip-Hop book is new to me.Thanks, Earl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
