RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- September 3, 2017

03 Sep

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating the people- especially the kidlit community- who are finding ways to help the victims of Hurricane Harvey.

KidLit-Cares-300x115

All the Way to HavanaAll the Way to Havana by Margarita Engle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Lyrical text and beautiful illustrations- one of my Caldecott contenders for the year, in fact!- will take readers along for the ride as a family drives across Cuba in a car that despite having seen better days has been taken care of over the years to have it do what’s it supposed to do. I love when picture books seems to only be one thing but actually has multiple layers written into it.

Come with MeCome with Me by Holly M. McGhee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful book to help soothe the fears one may have of all the bad news we’re bombarded with. Hopefully this will inspire readers to see what good they can do and to invite others to join them!

Sing, Don’t CrySing, Don’t Cry by Angela Dominguez
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Based on a popular Mexican song and inspired by the author’s grandfather’s life as a musician, it follows the joys and sadness of three family members and how songs can soothe the soul through good and bad times.

Why Am I Me?Why Am I Me? by Paige Britt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A celebration of diversity, our differences and similarities, and our connectedness through our shared interest of trying to figure out who we are. Simple text and beautiful illustrations make this a great book for kids to start asking big questions.

Portland BabyPortland Baby by Barbara Kerley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Spend a day with a Portland baby and see sights and experience things that might be unique to a child from the city of roses. My favorite part is probably the final two-page spread which includes questions for young readers to engage more with this board book.

Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come TrueUni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Readers will love this sequel in which the power of friendship is able to bring back the magic in the land of unicorns.

Super Manny Stands Up!Super Manny Stands Up! by Kelly DiPucchio
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Very fun picture book about standing up to bullies. Imaginative and full of positive reinforcements.

Flora and the Ostrich: An Opposites Book by Molly IdleFlora and the Ostrich: An Opposites Book by Molly Idle by Molly Idle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A cute addition to the series. It must be difficult to continue this kind of books but this works!

The Princess in Black and the Mysterious PlaydateThe Princess in Black and the Mysterious Playdate by Shannon Hale
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another fun addition to this series. A story about friendship, a monster really good at blending in with its surrounding, and a mysterious new superhero that will have readers dancing!

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- September 3, 2017

  1. cweichel

    September 4, 2017 at 10:20 am

    I’m looking forward to reading many of the books on this list Earl. All the Way to Havana and Why Am I Me? are definitely near the top, but I am just absolutely green with envy that you have read The Princess in Black and the Mysterious Playdate!

     
  2. Michele

    September 4, 2017 at 12:34 pm

    I’m glad to see you have Havana on your Mock list. I added it to mine as well. I would love to see Mike Curato get some Caldecott love!
    Looking forward to the next Princess in Black. I’ll check it out tomorrow!

     
  3. lindabaie

    September 4, 2017 at 1:53 pm

    I have Margarita’s book, but still need to read it. Will put it at the top, Earl! I love the look of Sing, Don’t Cry & Amy K-R’s new one, too. Many to love!

     
  4. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    September 4, 2017 at 3:09 pm

    Look at all those 4s! That definitely means that I need to read the ones I haven’t. I loved Sing Don’t Cry, Come with Me, and Why Am I Me, but I haven’t read the others (though I have Manny waiting).

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. Ricki Ginsberg

    September 4, 2017 at 9:53 pm

    I really enjoyed Come With Me. It is such a quiet, beautiful book. It seems like you read a lot of really great books this week!

     
  6. Myra GB

    September 6, 2017 at 2:15 am

    Nice! Lots of four stars this week, that’s awesome. Really looking forward to finding Margarita Engle’s picturebook.

     
  7. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 6, 2017 at 10:19 am

    Another great selection this week! Super Manny Stands Up! sounds particularly meaningful these days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
