RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- September 6, 2017

06 Sep

nfpb2017

bigmachines

One of my reading challenges a few years ago was to read Virginia Lee Burton’s books. And they were delightful and some of my more frequent recommendations as a bookseller. This picture book biography was a real treat because it talks about most of her work. I loved that it included The Little House especially since I didn’t really think about how big a role machines played in that story. The creators of this book were the perfect people to work on it considering their other titles.

If you can’t get enough Virginia Lee Burton, check out the documentary A Sense of Place.

Oddly enough, I had just watched a Disney short of The Little House on YouTube. I didn’t even know about it.

Manjhi Moves a MountainManjhi Moves a Mountain by Nancy Churnin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love stories like this where a situation is questioned and a solution is presented and a new better life is created for lots of people. And the fact that this is based on a true story makes it more incredible. Even after reading the author’s note at the end, I want to read more about Dashrath Manjhi and the circumstances of his monumental act.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- September 6, 2017

  1. Michele

    September 6, 2017 at 8:51 am

    I’m really excited about Big Machines. I’m on hold for it. I don’t know much about Virginia Burton so it will be an informative book!

     
  2. lindabaie

    September 6, 2017 at 8:55 am

    I know about the Burton book but haven’t read it. I still have The Little House & people still ask about her books at the bookstore. I read the summary of Manjhi Moves A Mountain and it sounds like an incredible story.Thanks, Earl.

     
  3. Myra GB

    September 8, 2017 at 7:02 pm

    I love the look of Manjhi Moves A Mountain – seems perfect for my higher-degree course elective this semester on multicultural picturebooks for social and emotional learning. I have placed it in Goodreads stack so that I’d remember to find it soonest.

     

Leave a Reply

 
