RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- September 10, 2017

11 Sep

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
#MustReadin2017 Fall Update

littlefoxes

Based on a folk song, Little Foxes is a book by Portland artist Bunny with a Toolbelt (a.k.a. Hilary Pfeifer) about being green featuring over 100 sculptures from reclaimed wood. Includes a glossary and interesting facts about recycling. Great for Earth Day and perfect for any tiem of the year for anyone interested in getting inspired to lead a green lifestyle!

Goodbye Autumn, Hello WinterGoodbye Autumn, Hello Winter by Kenard Pak

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Absolutely beautiful picture book about the transition of one season to another from the vibrant colors of fall into the cool landscapes of winter. A sweet story perfect for an outdoor read-aloud or an indoor cuddling book.

A Letter to My TeacherA Letter to My Teacher by Deborah Hopkinson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’d been meaning to read this and glad I actually took the time to finally do so. A sweet tribute to teachers told through the eyes of a second-grade girl who admittedly wasn’t the easiest student to have. Very touching.

Mama Lion Wins the RaceMama Lion Wins the Race by Jon J. Muth

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I admit the illustrations made me want to avoid this book at all cost even though I’m a huge fan of Jon J. Muth! But ultimately I enjoyed this story of a car race that had a throwback European feel to it. And it manages to incorporate friendship and kindness and the lesson that winning first place may not be the real prize! The characters were apparently based on real kids toys and sharp eyed readers will want to be on the look out for a familiar character or two!

LovelyLovely by Jess Hong

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A “lovely” book of how our differences make us all beautiful.

Broadway Baby: Do Re Mi: An illustrated sing-along to the Sound of MusicBroadway Baby: Do Re Mi: An illustrated sing-along to the Sound of Music by Walter Foster Jr Creative Team

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love The Sound of Music and this song so I was curious to see what this book was about. It amused me that as much as I’ve heard the song, I couldn’t for the life of me remember the tune to some parts. Includes information about Rodgers and Hammerstein and the musical inspiration.

Broadway Baby: My Favorite Things: An illustrated sing-along to the Sound of MusicBroadway Baby: My Favorite Things: An illustrated sing-along to the Sound of Music by Walter Foster Jr Creative Team

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love The Sound of Music and this song so I was curious to see what this book was about. It amused me that as much as I’ve heard the song, I couldn’t for the life of me remember the tune to some parts. Includes information about Rodgers and Hammerstein and the musical inspiration.

Salam Alaikum: A Message of PeaceSalam Alaikum: A Message of Peace by Harris J

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize this was another one of those picture books based on a song. And it’s a pretty recent song by a young artist. I ended up YouTubing the video and listening to parts of the song. I liked the message and I enjoyed the story the illustrations tell.

The Secret KeepersThe Secret Keepers by Trenton Lee Stewart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m kicking myself for not reading this sooner! I loved The Mysterious Benedict Society and I was looking forward to this when it first came out. I have to admit though that the size- it’s a pretty thick book and, listening to it on audio, was over 15 hours- made me not to want to pick it up in the first place. Also, it was a slow burn like his other books but, once it gets going, you’ll be turning pages until the end.

N or M? (Tommy and Tuppence, #3)N or M? by Agatha Christie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fun revisiting these characters. Agatha Christie always manages to keep readers on their toes!

On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth CenturyOn Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century by Timothy Snyder
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

On Tyranny by Timothy Snyder. Probably the best and most important book I read this year. It was what I needed to read at this moment. If you’re feeling overwhelmed and unsure of what to do, this will give you action steps. It also provides historical context and examples of how we got to where we are now. I highly encourage you to pick up a copy for yourself and share it with others. This is a quick read that will have a lasting impression on any of its readers.

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- September 10, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    September 11, 2017 at 12:12 pm

    I just got Goodbye Autumn, Hello Winter from the library, look forward to reading it! You always have such interesting ‘new” ones for me to find, Earl, like Little Foxes & On Tyranny. Both, & others, sound very good. Thanks for all!

     
  2. Michele

    September 11, 2017 at 3:29 pm

    I haven’t read the new Muth book, but the illustrations seem so different from his past books. I’ll have to check it out.
    I just got the new Pak book, always love those illustrations!

     
  3. crbrunelle

    September 11, 2017 at 7:51 pm

    I’m intrigued by your comments about On Tyranny. It sounds like something I would appreciate reading. Thanks.

     
  4. Ricki

    September 11, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    A Letter to My Teacher looks great. Perhaps it is one that I can use to kickoff discussions on classroom management. Thank you for sharing it! I will check it out!

     
  5. cweichel

    September 14, 2017 at 8:12 am

    I’ve just put a hold on A Letter to My Teacher. On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century is on my list of books I want to read. I might have to add it to my nonfiction must read for next year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
