RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 25, 2019

25 Mar

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

Recent Posts:
#NFPB2019: March 20, 2019

I visited so many bookstores and libraries last week! Read about them here:
First Bookstore and Library Visits of 2019!
13th Ever Library Hop: Last Minute First Library Hop of 2019

What Is Inside THIS Box? (Monkey and Cake)What Is Inside THIS Box? by Drew Daywalt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Elephant and Piggie will enjoy this new series from the author of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors.

This Is MY Fort! (Monkey and Cake)This Is MY Fort! by Drew Daywalt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Elephant and Piggie will enjoy this new series from the author of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors.

Zen HappinessZen Happiness by Jon J. Muth
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A nice small gift book of inspirational sayings paired with Jon J. Muth’s illustrations.

Black and WhiteBlack and White by David Macaulay
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Apparently, I’d already read this for my Caldecott Reading Challenge in 2012 when I wrote it was “a great experiment in storytelling.”

Apocalypse TacoApocalypse Taco by Nathan Hale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was probably one of the most insane stories I’ve read. I mean, what can you expect with a title like Apocalypse Taco? It reminds me of horror movies when they were still scary with a touch of the absurd like The Evil Dead. I’m sure this will be gobbled up by both kids and adults!

Review Notes
***= Liked It
****= Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

— — — — — — — THANK YOU FOR READING! — — — — — — —

Advertisements
 

5 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 25, 2019

  1. Shaye Miller

    March 25, 2019 at 8:48 am

    I think you hit the nail on the head with Black and White — a great, daring experiment in children’s lit. It seems people either loved it or hated it. It’s been a long time since I read it, but now I want to go pick up a copy again. Thanks for all the shares, Earl. Have a wonderful reading week!

     
  2. cweichel

    March 25, 2019 at 9:18 am

    Hi Earl, I loved your comments about Apocalypse Taco and now must find a copy to read!

     
  3. Lisa Maucione

    March 25, 2019 at 6:28 pm

    I am intrigued by Apocalypse Taco. I have to admit I haven’t ever read any of Nathan Hale’s books and I know I should change that!

     
  4. Myra Garces-Bacsal

    March 31, 2019 at 12:35 am

    Black and White is one of those post-modern picturebooks that I always share to my higher degree class to demonstrate just how much picturebooks have “grown.”

     
  5. crbrunelle

    March 31, 2019 at 9:06 pm

    Apocalypse Taco sure sounds bizarre so of course now I want to see it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: