I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

Recent Posts:
#NFPB2019- June 19, 2019

Chirri & Chirra, UndergroundChirri & Chirra, Underground by Kaya Doi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another delightful installment of this Japanese export where the girls find themselves having an underground adventure full of surprises and new friends.

Where Are You From?Where Are You From? by Yamile Saied Méndez
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

For fans of Islandborn and How Alma Got Her Name, this picture book explores the rich history of a little girl’s life of where she came from.

The HideoutThe Hideout by Susanna Mattiangeli
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The book is like Where the Wild Things Are meets What Do You Do with an Idea? A little girl decides to hide away with a mysterious creature and it’s a surprising discovery of where she’s been.

For my Reading the Rainbow BINGO Reading Challenge

A Plan for PopsA Plan for Pops by Heather Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A boy spends Saturdays with a set of grandparents- his two grandfathers- who have different personalities. When something happens to one of them, he tries to come up with a plan to cheer him up.

Some Men - Acting EditionSome Men – Acting Edition by Terrence McNally
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A humorous and sometimes tragic play that follows different groups of gay men in different time periods.

All Its CharmsAll Its Charms by Keetje Kuipers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sometimes poetry puts me off but this one was very approachable. From becoming a single mother to finding new love with another woman and trying to have another child, these poems offer a personal insight to her life.

An Underground Life:  Memoirs of a Gay Jew in Nazi BerlinAn Underground Life: Memoirs of a Gay Jew in Nazi Berlin by Gad Beck
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was an interesting- and surprisingly funny- memoir of surviving Nazi Germany. Some things sounded a bit made up like he was some sort of gay James Bond. It was amazing how bad things escalated and eerie how similar certain situations are now to back then. I wonder if there’s a hidden second part to this memoir about life after their freedom.

Review Notes
***= Liked It
****= Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

— — — — — — — THANK YOU FOR READING! — — — — — — —

4 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- June 24, 2019

  1. I just got Where Are You From? in my stack of books from the library today. Thanks for sharing and have a terrific week!

  2. Chirri & Chirra, Underground is a completely new title to me and after looking at the cover and reading the synopsis, I’m going to have to read this one. I see it’s being released tomorrow. YAY! I’m adding it to my TBR list. Thanks for sharing all these titles, Earl!

  3. Hi Earl, my library didn’t have this Kaya Doi title, but it does have three earlier books by the same author. I’m looking forward to reading them.

  4. Oooh, I love the look of the new Chirri and Chirra – I loved their first one, so am happy to see they have a new one. Where Are You From seems perfect for our SEL bookshelf. Thanks for sharing all these.
    Have a great reading week!
    Will be in California sometime in July with family, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s