In 2024, I’ve read 143 books so far.

The breakdown is:
9- Adult novels
1- Adult non-fiction
20- Graphic novels
23- Middle Grade novels
83- Picture Books and Board Books
6- Young Adult novels
of which
20- Nonfiction Picture Books
18- Audio Books
11- Books by Filipino Authors and/or Illustrators
25- Books by LGBTQ+ Authors and/or Illustrators

Kailani's GiftKailani’s Gift by Dorina K. Lazo Gilmore-Young
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As Kailani’s Lolo and Lola’s golden anniversary approaches, she wants to join her siblings in dancing Tinikling but she discovers it’such harder than it looks. Even with the help from a surprising source, will she be able to give her grandparents the perfect gift? A beautiful picture book celebrating family and Filipino culture.

The Perfect PlaceThe Perfect Place by Matt de la Peña
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A boy gets an opportunity to visit “the perfect place” where everything is bright and nothing is ever wrong. He even gets acknowledged for a job well done. But is perfection worth all the sacrifice of leaving his family behind? A sweet book depicting a family’s struggles- and resilience.

The Sea Hides a SeahorseThe Sea Hides a Seahorse by Sara T. Behrman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

With lyrical texts and beautiful illustrations, readers will discover delights under the sea- as a seahorse hides in every page in a fun seek-and-find element.

Dominique's Thrifted TreasuresDominique’s Thrifted Treasures by Margarett McBride
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of Last Stop of Market Street and Julian is a Mermaid will enjoy this inclusive story of family, community, fashion, and thrifting.

The ABCs of Queer HistoryThe ABCs of Queer History by Seema Yasmin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great companion to The ABCs of Black History, this is a perfect addition to any inclusive library. Includes extensive backmatter that goes a bit deeper with people and topics discussed in the main text.

We Are BranchesWe Are Branches by Joyce Sidman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As they did in Swirl by Swirl: Spirals in Nature, the duo explores the different types of branches in the natural world all around us- and inside us.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- May 5, 2024

  1. I’ve read ‘We Are Branches’ & it is lovely, and thanks for the others, Earl, all look great!

  2. Hi Earl,

    I’ve noted Kailani’s Gift, but unfortunately, my library doesn’t have it. I will also be looking forward to The Sea Hides a Seahorse and The Perfect Place.

  3. What a great set of books, Earl! The Perfect Place sounds like such a meaningful story, and I feel like actually showing readers that alternate universe, and how it’s less perfect than it looks, is so much more impactful than just talking about the theme in a vacuum. Dominique’s Thrifted Treasures also caught my eye! Thank you so much for the thoughtful picks, as always, and enjoy your week!

  4. Some wonderful sounding books this week. I think seahorses make for a great topic/main character for a picture book and I realize I’ve never read any PBs about them! Will add these to the TBR for sure.

  5. All 4 out of 5s?!?! That doesn’t happen very often, so I will definitely be looking into these.

    And I think you’d like Mona Lisa–I hope you get a chance to read it.

Leave a comment