My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 22, 2019

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Recent Posts:
#NFPB2019- July 17, 2019

Small WorldSmall World by Ishta Mercurio
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

From the circle of her mother’s arms when she was a baby to the other elaborate shapes found in nature that she observes as she gets older, Nanda’s world becomes more expansive that she could have imagined. A wonderful meditation in where we fit in in the big scheme of things.

How to Be on the MoonHow to Be on the Moon by Viviane Schwarz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A nice follow up to How to Find Gold. The two friends go off on another one of their imaginative adventures- this time to the moon with plenty of sandwiches.

Sadiq and the Fun RunSadiq and the Fun Run by Siman Nuurali
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new early chapter book series featuring a Somali-American boy. Sadiq isn’t excited that his friends are allowed to be on the football team while he has to join the running team.

Sadiq and the Pet ProblemSadiq and the Pet Problem by Siman Nuurali
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new early chapter book series featuring a Somali-American boy. Sadiq forms a club to help his class decide which pet to get.

Sadiq and the Green ThumbsSadiq and the Green Thumbs by Siman Nuurali
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new early chapter book series featuring a Somali-American boy. Sadiq convinces his friends to help their injured teacher with some yard work. My favorite in the series so far since I love books about kindness.

The Next Great Paulie FinkThe Next Great Paulie Fink by Ali Benjamin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This reminded me a bit of Stargirl (which I didn’t even like) because everyone was talking about this larger-than-life character who doesn’t show up during the first day of seventh grade. His classmates try to fill the void by holding a reality TV style competition to search for his replacement. Quirky characters and not your typical situations may be a bit much for some readers to really get into it but I found the story to be quite enjoyable. It has a great message of trying to figure out who you are by deciding what kind of person you want to be.

Other Words for HomeOther Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Novel in verse about a family separated due to violence in their home country. Jude and her mom must learn to adjust to their new, unfamiliar, strange, and confusing home in the US while her father and older brother stay behind.

Shouting at the RainShouting at the Rain by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s a season of change for Delsie as summer brings in tourists from all over including one of her best friends, a new girl who causes a rift between the two friends, and a boy who has a bit of a wild side. A coming of age story that explores the complexities of family and friendship. I liked that the author has included an anagram puzzle involving the characters’ names!

Review Notes
***= Liked It
****= Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

Advertisements

#NFPB2019- July 17, 2019

nfpb2019

IntersectionAllies: We Make Room for AllIntersectionAllies: We Make Room for All by Chelsea Johnson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great book to start conversations about a big idea topic to kids- and very helpful for adults, too! Follows a group of kids and showcases how their lives are different based on race, religion, and many other factors but also how they’re there for one another. Extensive back matter includes prompts to get conversations going. Would make a great addition to any library.

Dream BigDream Big by Joyce Wan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A positive message about dreaming big that uses female trailblazers as inspiration. Includes mini biographies at the end of the oversized board book.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 15, 2019

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Recent Posts:
#NFPB2019- July 10, 2019
The Ultimate Library Adventure of Marley and Pearl: Exploring NYPL– I found some more pictures from this adventure!

Green Bean Books celebrated 10 years this past Tuesday! It was a super fun day. We had Napoleon the therapy alpaca come and Maggie Rudy unveiled a stunning diorama!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pie in the SkyPie in the Sky by Remy Lai
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of Front Desk and All Four Stars will enjoy this novel with some graphic novel elements about Jingwen and his family trying to settle in in their new home in Australia. Feeling like a Martian and still reeling from his father’s absence, he gets the idea that baking cakes will help solve his problems. A story that is sweet and salty like the caramel sauce his little booger of a brother enjoys.

The Pocket Pema ChodronThe Pocket Pema Chodron by Pema Chödrön
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My roommate suggested I read this treasury of selections from Pema Chodron’s works. Quick inspiring reads to hopefully get you to feel at peace.

Review Notes
***= Liked It
****= Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

My Coast Vacation Wrap-Up

I recently went to the Oregon Coast again since I had a three-day weekend to celebrate the Fourth of July. While I shared the bookish aspects of that trip here, I wanted to talk about how much fun I had on the beaches and all the cool things I saw!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Seaside really brought it with its Fourth of July festivities. I went to an old fashioned social and had a cheeseburger with chips, strawberry shortcake, listened to a band, and played bingo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I stayed at an interesting hostel. It was wonderfully located with some nice touches. I always think I’m used to staying at hostels but, once again, I’m reminded I’m not. I apparently roomed with the loudest snorer ever. Everything would be quiet and then it would sound like there was some sort of bear attack. Needless to say, I did not get any good nights of sleep. Fortunately I was binge-watching the latest season of Stranger Things!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I walked along the Historical Seaside Promenade aka the Prom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love finding “secret” places when I walk. I found Painted Rock Beach, a charming cozy hideaway.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In Astoria, I stumbled upon the Garden of Surging Waves, a Chinese heritage park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cannon Beach remains my favorite. I loved getting to walk along the beach and finally seeing Haystack Rock.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll be the first to admit I don’t really understand nature. I’ve heard of high tides and low tides before but didn’t really know how much of a difference they made. It was only coming back the next day did I see how much was hidden beneath the waves!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think it was my first time ever seeing tide pools. It was so great to see the different species living in them!

And, apparently, the other towering rock structures nearby are called The Needles.

Sadly, I may have been overeager to take pictures. Hopefully, I didn’t step on anything and hurt or damage them.

The last beach I went to was in Manzanita. I was impressed by how different all the beaches I’d gone to have been such different experiences from one another.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s a great reminder that we must do our part to protect our planet because it’s the only one we have.

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- July 8, 2019

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

Recent Posts:
#NFPB2019- July 3, 2019

Camp TigerCamp Tiger by Susan Choi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Stunning artwork makes this a Caldecott pick for me!

It’s the summer before a boy starts first grade. He goes on a camping trip with his family where a tiger joins them. A gentle tale about growing up.

Goodbye, Friend! Hello, Friend!Goodbye, Friend! Hello, Friend! by Cori Doerrfeld
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A sweet book about how endings can often lead to new beginnings.

Sadiq and the Desert StarSadiq and the Desert Star by Siman Nuurali
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new early chapter book series featuring a Somali-American boy. A field trip to the planetarium inspires Sadiq to form a Space Club at school.

White BirdWhite Bird by R J Palacio
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new Wonder book is always exciting. In this graphic novel, we hear more of Julian’s grandmother’s story being a Jewish girl during World War II. Heart-wrenching, for sure. Lots of extensive backmatter material.

Queen of the SeaQueen of the Sea by Dylan Meconis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For some reason, I originally didn’t want to read this but, once I picked it up and started, I couldn’t stop! Historical adventure with lots of intrigue. I hope there’s a sequel!

Review Notes
***= Liked It
****= Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

— — — — — — — THANK YOU FOR READING! — — — — — — —