Exactly as PlannedExactly as Planned by Tao Nyeu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Reversible books seem to be a trend nowadays. In this one, two friends are about to meet up but they each encounter a series of obstacles that changes the result of their get together.

Wherever You Go (An All Are Welcome Book)Wherever You Go by Alexandra Penfold
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Someone Just Like YouSomeone Just Like You by Helen Docherty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Kind of like a mash up of Bodies Are Cool and This Is How We Do It, this inclusive picture books promotes empathy by showing what we may have in common from those who may not look like us.

This would make a perfect baby shower or graduation gift in the lines of Oh, the Places You’ll Go! and The Wonderful Things You Will Be.

RainbowsaurusRainbowsaurus by Steve Antony
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cute story full of animals sounds to read out loud with incidental LGBTQ+ representation.

The Book That Can Read Your MindThe Book That Can Read Your Mind by Marianna Coppo
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A gimmicky book that you just have to try for yourself. You’ll definitely go back and try to figure out how it works.

Was It a Cat I Saw?Was It a Cat I Saw? by Laura Bontje
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I remember loving these kinds of wordplay books when I was a kid and I’m glad they’ve been making a comeback in recent years.

TourmalineTourmaline by Davide Calì
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Beautifully illustrated. I wish it wasn’t marketed as a queer retelling because it’s a bit spoilery and it could have been more powerful if the reader discovered it naturally.

There are No Dragons in This BookThere are No Dragons in This Book by Donna Lambo-Weidner
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fun break the fourth wall interactive picture book.

City of Wishes (Legends of Lotus Island #3)City of Wishes by Christina Soontornvat
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Always exciting to have another installment in this series. I love that it’s building up to a big battle and I’m eagerly anticipating the next one.

Solimar: The Sword of the MonarchsSolimar: The Sword of the Monarchs by Pam Muñoz Ryan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s weird I didn’t read this sooner since I’ve read most of Pam Muñoz Ryan’s other novels and enjoyed them. It was probably for some odd reason like I didn’t want to read another one of her books with an orange cover. But I’m glad I did read this. Perfect fantasy adventure of a soon-to-be princess who acquires a magical power from the butterflies she wants to protect. There’s lots of fun fantastical elements that will leave readers turning pages until the end.

Aviva vs. the DybbukAviva vs. the Dybbuk by Mari Lowe
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I wanted to like this more but the ending was kind of a let down. I was intrigued enough to finish the book and actually enjoyed not being familiar with lots of the words and customs talked about. It felt like too many types of stories were happening all at once to be cohesive and satisfying.

In the Garden: A Magic Flaps BookIn the Garden: A Magic Flaps Book by Will Millard
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun new interactive board book series with flaps under flaps that will delight young readers.

The Emperor and the Endless PalaceThe Emperor and the Endless Palace by Justinian Huang
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t usually read “romantasy” but the author’s Instagram “apology” posts intrigued me. Not to add another word in quotes but I also don’t usually read “spicy”. However, this was an enjoyable escape about two lovers over different lifetimes and the perils they’re conti- nuously faced with it. I listened to the audiobook which was excellently narrated.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 18, 2024

  1. I put Wherever You Go on my list, Earl, plus a few others. There are so many to enjoy for kids. I hope lots of classrooms can get and enjoy them! Thanks!

  2. This is such an excellent set of books, Earl! Exactly as Planned and The Book that Can Read Your Mind both have such clever premises—I am genuinely fascinated by whatever tricks the latter uses to “read” readers’ minds. Tourmaline also looks beautiful, and for There Are No Dragons In This Book, I’ve noticed Donna Lambo-Weidner’s name around the blogging world. Thank you so much for the thoughtful reviews and picks, as always, and take care!

Leave a comment