In 2024, I’ve read 74 books so far.

The breakdown is:
5- Adult novels
0- Adult non-fiction
17- Graphic novels
7- Middle Grade novels
40- Picture Books and Board Books
5- Young Adult novels
of which
14- Nonfiction Picture Books
8- Audio Books
5- Books by Filipino Authors and/or Illustrators
17- Books by LGBTQ+ Authors and/or Illustrators

Hooray for She, He, Ze, and They!: What Are Your Pronouns Today?Hooray for She, He, Ze, and They!: What Are Your Pronouns Today? by Lindz Amer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a refreshingly exuberant way to talk about pronouns and finding the one(s) that’ll fit.

Hilo Book 10: Rise of the Cat: (A Graphic Novel)Hilo Book 10: Rise of the Cat: by Judd Winick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t really looking forward to this installment because a new arc was focused on a character I didn’t like but I really ended up liking this one. I think younger readers will definitely enjoy this one. Very funny.

Mona of the Manor (Tales of the City, #10)Mona of the Manor by Armistead Maupin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was pleasantly surprised to learn about this novel and a bit wary of a new Tales of the City story that may potentially tarnish the affection I have for the series but I needn’t have worried. Even though readers aren’t in 28 Barbary Lane but in a manor house in the UK, there are familiar faces to greet them. And this stay will be full of delights and a bit of trouble and what I hope may be the beginning of even more tales.

The House Of PaperThe House Of Paper by Carlos María Domínguez
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A book lover’s dream… and nightmare.

This little book caught my eye while I was browsing the shelves of a recently opened Friends of the Library bookstore. The title intrigued me- as well as the fact Peter Sis did illustrations for it.

Intriguing. Nerdy. Eerie.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 4, 2024

  1. Hi Earl, I noted The House of Paper, which does sound a little creepy, & the pronoun book, good to know about. Thanks for all & have a great week ahead!

  2. Oooh, I didn’t know about the new Hilo book. I got a little behind with the series. Sounds interesting.

  3. I’ve only read 36 books so far this year. I still read picture books and MG, but seem to be reading more adult stuff – especially nonfiction.

    I have never heard of the Tales of the City series until today! I went and put a hold on the first one.

  4. I just read Hooray for She, He, Ze, and They!: What Are Your Pronouns Today?, and it is such a well done book–I look forward to sharing it, too. And HiLo is a favorite series of mine and Trent’s, so I can’t wait to read it!

    P.S. I can’t believe Trent has been sharing books for a decade either! Though he did say in the car to me the other day, “I think, at least for the first couple of years, those lists might have been your favorite books to read to me, not my favorites.” I tried to explain that I could tell what he liked, but he called me bias 😀 Either way, a decade of Trent lists is just mindblowing!

Leave a comment