What's New, Daniel?What’s New, Daniel? by Micha Archer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Readers will once again enjoy seeing and experiencing the world through Daniel’s eyes this time prompted by a simple question.

Finding PapaFinding Papa by Angela Pham Krans
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Based on the author’s personal experiences, this beautiful story of resilience and family will resonate with many readers. The illustrations are gorgeous.

Nana in the CityNana in the City by Lauren Castillo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I decided to read this because we were having a Grandparents Day Celebration at work. This was a super touching story about a boy visiting his grandmother in the city. The illustrations are superb.

(Originally reviewed September 2014)

Nana in the CountryNana in the Country by Lauren Castillo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this follow up to Nana in the City, a boy is excited to show his metropolitan grandmother around his farm lifestyle but worries she might not be as into it as he thought. Sweet story with stunning illustrations.

I'll Love You Till the Cows Come HomeI’ll Love You Till the Cows Come Home by Kathryn Cristaldi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cute and quirky bedtime book.

Coyote Lost and FoundCoyote Lost and Found by Dan Gemeinhart
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t know Dan Gemeinhart’s process or anything but I feel like Coyote’s story comes to him naturally instead of him having to work so hard for it. (In other words, it’s like a gift. And, I know that if it comes off as that easy, then it’s actually in fact hard work.) Anyway, a new adventure begins when Coyote discovers her mother’s ashes leading to a cross country trip to find a misplaced book that may contain where she wanted her ashes to be scattered. The emotions are there and it’s quite a wild ride she’ll undertake but I was a bit thrown off when this took place during the start of the pandemic. Other than that, readers will enjoy taking another trip with Coyote.

Lulu Sinagtala and the City of Noble Warriors (Lulu Sinagtala and the Tagalog Gods, 1)Lulu Sinagtala and the City of Noble Warriors by Gail D. Villanueva
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Percy Jackson will enjoy this first book in a fantasy duology that might be their first introduction to Philippine mythology. Readers may find a lot in common with eleven-year-old Lulu Sinagtala who loves K-Pop and will do anything for her family. Suddenly, she learns there is much more to her world and herself that puts everything she ever knows in danger.

I did find some parts very inconsistent but I will definitely still read the next book.

BlackwardBlackward by Lawrence Lindell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m glad I heard about the Queer Liberation Library and got their free membership to their curated selection through the Libby app. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have heard about this joyous and quirky graphic novel celebrating being Black, being Queer, and just being who you are. Perfect for older fans of Jerry Craft.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 19, 2024

  1. I’m looking forward to the new Coyote book. You’ve made it sound nice, like the first one! I love the Nana books and noted the others. Thanks, Earl. I read an interview with your boss, owner of Green Bean Books and you were mentioned, too! The store sounds awesome! Have a great week this week!

  2. I loved Nana in the City and will be looking forward to reading Nana in the Country. I’m pretty sure being a grandmother helps.

    I’m going to be waiting to read Coyote Lost and Found and Lulu Sinagtala.

    Happy reading this week.

  3. I very much look forward to reading the new Coyote book; I have loved everything Gameinhart wrote.

    Happy reading this week, and thank you for linking up 🙂

Leave a comment