Box of DreamsBox of Dreams by Faith Kazmi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The balikbayan box, or a box sent to the Philippines by one who lives overseas who’ve filled it with gifts and necessities, is a staple in lots of Philippine households. In this picture book, a little girl helps her mom fill one up with things their relatives may like. But she includes a wish with the delivery that she hopes will come true.

Whose Footprints Are These?Whose Footprints Are These? by Gerda Muller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A fun wordless picture book that will encourage readers to think about whatever exactly happened on each page.

I Am GoldenI Am Golden by Eva Chen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A beautiful celebration of the Asian American- particularly Chinese-American- identity. A much needed positive encouragement of where one came from and what you can accomplish despite the world giving you obstacles to overcome. A problem I had was the section where the destiny was fulfilled in the child. While a nice concept, what pressure that is!

We Are Golden: 27 Groundbreakers Who Changed the WorldWe Are Golden: 27 Groundbreakers Who Changed the World by Eva Chen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A board book biography collection of Asian Americans. A nice companion to the duo’s I am Golden.

Time to Eat!Time to Eat! by Vickie Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In this Mandarin/English bilingual board book, readers will salivate as members of a large family decide what to have for dinner.

P Is for PrideP Is for Pride by Greg Paprocki
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A fun board book celebrating Pride with a glossary at the back.

The Misfits #1: A Royal ConundrumThe Misfits #1: A Royal Conundrum by Lisa Yee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and City Spies will enjoy this fun paced mystery adventure series featuring a secret group of skilled and gifted students. This first go-around they have to capture a jewel theft and find a way to save their school.

Break (A Click Graphic Novel, 6)Break by Kayla Miller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s always interesting to see what Olivia gets herself into because the situations are never quite black or white. It was fascinating to see her dad and her complicated relationship with him.

Award Winners

BigBig by Vashti Harrison
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An empowering book about being brave, standing up for oneself, and finding one’s voice to speak up when other people’s words hurt you.

Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Mexican Freedom FighterJovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Mexican Freedom Fighter by Aida Salazar
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Stunning both the real life story of a courageous freedom fighter and the lively illustrations depicting it. Award winner.

The Truth About DragonsThe Truth About Dragons by Julie Leung
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A book that caught me by surprise. It’s a bedtime story and a quest. It’s about dragons- and identity. Award winner.

Holding Her Own: The Exceptional Life of Jackie OrmesHolding Her Own: The Exceptional Life of Jackie Ormes by Traci N. Todd
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A wonderful picture book biography about an African American cartoonist that wasn’t afraid to use her platform to shine a light on societal injustices that women and people of color faced.

A Letter for BobA Letter for Bob by Kim Rogers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A beautiful ode to vehicles that we’ve come to rely to get us from one moment of our lives to another.

View all my reviews

Forever CousinsForever Cousins by Laurel Goodluck
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A sweet story of two cousins reuniting after moving many miles apart.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 29, 2024

  1. Hi Earl, I have Misfits & just got The Truth About Dragons from the library, looking forward to them when I finish the Cybils’ work. Thanks for others, too. Yes, Big is wonderful! Have a great week this week!

  2. Hi Earl, I loved Big when I read it last fall. I wish it had been around when I was younger. I didn’t have weight issues, but I have friends and cousins who were like Vashti Harrison. It would have been so important for them (and for their parents!)

    Thanks for the heads up about Break – I am a fan and have put my name on the reserve list for it. My library has The Truth About Dragons, so I’ll be looking forward to reading it.

Leave a comment