Pretty UglyPretty Ugly by David Sedaris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of the most unique picture books I’ve read not only this year but of all time. Unexpected. Fun and a bit gruesome. Perfect for fans of Shel Silverstein’s irreverent poems.

Love Is My Favorite ColorLove Is My Favorite Color by Nina Laden
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Worth reading if you need a bit of positivity in your life. Felt like a nice hug.

Say My NameSay My Name by Joanna Ho
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Stunning illustrations pair with lyrical text to show the importance of saying a person’s name correctly. Pronunciation guide is included in the back. Would love to hear the audiobook version of this.

Coretta: The Autobiography of Mrs. Coretta Scott KingCoretta: The Autobiography of Mrs. Coretta Scott King by Coretta Scott King
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Adapted from her autobiography into a picture book that should be included in every inclusive library. I really need to read more about Coretta Scott King because I didn’t realize how much she had done for civil rights. I feel she’s still overshadowed but she was as much of a change maker as her husband.

The Wondrous WondersThe Wondrous Wonders by Camille Jourdy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Dreamy, trippy. If Alice in Wonderland had a dose of Studio Ghibli. It’s really quite interesting how storytelling from other countries differ than here in the US.

Janus Silang and the Struggle for Kalibutan: Volume Two in the Janus Silang Saga (Janus Silang Saga, 2)Janus Silang and the Struggle for Kalibutan: Volume Two in the Janus Silang Saga by Edgar Calabia Samar
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Janus Silang saga continues in the second volume of this graphic novel series adapted from novels for older teens.

It’s an interesting premise mixing computer gaming, supernatural horror and Philippine mythology.

This would probably be better picked up when the entire series is out to avoid forgetting plot lines and to not give up on it. This book was particularly heavy on expositions but I appreciated some of the things they were trying to do.

Lady SusanLady Susan by Jane Austen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A delightful epistolary novella- although the ending was a bit rushed. It’s like hanging out with friends who know all the good gossip.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 15, 2024

  1. Sedaris writing a picture book? That’s a… choice. Coretta looks interesting. Maybe there needs to be a middle grade book like Betty Before X about her. Stay warm this week!

  2. Thanks for all, Earl. I will look for the Sedaris book and the new on by Mrs. King for sure! Hope you’re managing okay with the weird weather!

  3. I wasn’t aware that David Sedaris had written a picture book. Definitely sounds like I need to check it out!

  4. So many great books here today, Earl! I made note of Say My Name, and it’s so fun that you picked up The Wondrous Wonders—I read it over the summer, and I love your description of Alice in Wonderland plus Ghibli! Coretta also sounds like such an impactful read—I don’t think I realized how accomplished Coretta Scott King was in her own right. Thanks so much for the thoughtful picks, and have a great week!

  5. I really really wish I didn’t have to wait to read Pretty Ugly. It’s sounds like a delightful title to read with my grandkids.
    I have Say My Name in the bag of library books I just picked up. I’ll try to get to it this week, but given that I have house guests….

Leave a comment