Happy New Year!

Before we get to the reviews, I wanted to let everyone know I shared my favorite books of 2023 here.

I can’t believe I’ve been posting every week this past year! In 2024, I’m hoping to post every other week and maybe just reviews of stellar books and/or of noteworthy ones. I also took a break from posting more personal content and maybe I’ll bring that back. Who knows?

In 2023, I’ve read 514 books so far.

The breakdown is:
17- Adult novels
12- Adult non-fiction
56- Graphic novels
90- Middle Grade novels
329- Picture Books and Board Books
12- Young Adult novels
of which
72- Nonfiction Picture Books
54- Audio Books
39- Books by Filipino Authors and/or Illustrators
64- Books by LGBTQ+ Authors and/or Illustrators

Jumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping SpiderJumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping Spider by Jessica Lanan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was super impressed with everything about this nonfiction picture book. Lots of interesting facts and the illustrations were superb.

GreenGreen by Alex Gino
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I appreciate Alex Gino’s ability to write about everyday situations featuring people from the LGBTQ+ spectrum. It’s a beautiful reminder that we all go through the same things despite the differences we impose upon ourselves and one another.

Feel-Good Productivity: How to Do More of What Matters to YouFeel-Good Productivity: How to Do More of What Matters to You by Ali Abdaal
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a refreshing approach to productivity, perfect to read as we head towards a new year.

I listened to it on audiobook but I think I would have gotten more out of it reading a physical copy. Definitely wouldn’t hurt rereading it.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads. Please consider supporting independent bookstores when you want to buy any of the books I’ve mentioned via Bookshop.org or Libro.fm.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 1, 2024

  1. I really do need to get ‘Jumper’, would love to learn more about those intriguing spiders! I need to leave but will get back to your ‘favorites’ list, Earl. Looking forward to it! Happy New Year. Thanks always for bringing me new books to discover!

  2. I don’t know if I could read Jumper because jumping insects really creep me out. I agree that now is the perfect time to read the Feel Good book. It never hurts to read something that will increase my productivity! 🙂

  3. I read your list favourites Earl, and have to agree that Daniel Henning is one of the finest narrators I’ve come across. I haven’t created any favourite lists myself, but In the Lives of Puppets would certainly be in the top three. I adore Klune’s writing!

Leave a comment