I’ll be sharing my favorite reads of the past year. Not all of them may have been published this year.

Picture Books

Lila Greer, Teacher of the Year (The Questioneers)Lila Greer, Teacher of the Year by Andrea Beaty
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of my favorite picture books of 2023. It’s such a touching tribute to teachers and their impacts on students.

That FlagThat Flag by Tameka Fryer Brown
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wasn’t prepared to get all emotional reading this picture book. Such a powerful book tackling a topic that can lead to difficult but much needed conversations.

Woo Hoo! You're Doing Great!Woo Hoo! You’re Doing Great! by Sandra Boynton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of my favorite picture books of 2023! A feel-good message without encouraging toxic positivity.

Elbert in the AirElbert in the Air by Monica Wesolowska
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For anyone who loved the idea of The Giving Tree and Love You Forever but found them unsatisfying for whatever reason, Elbert in the Air might be a great alternative. A wonderful celebration of supportive parents or caregivers.

Middle Grade

Chinese Menu: The History, Myths, and Legends Behind Your Favorite FoodsChinese Menu: The History, Myths, and Legends Behind Your Favorite Foods by Grace Lin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Readers will devour this book when it comes out in September. Only Grace Lin can serve up food mythologies in such a way that you’re invested in the story and then crave all the food she wrote about. Great backmatter with additional information with all the research that was done. I appreciated the shout-outs to her research assistant.

I read an ARC so I can’t wait to see the final product in its full color presentation. Even in this state, the illustrations were stunning.

The Guardian Test (Legends of Lotus Island, #1)The Guardian Test by Christina Soontornvat
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bestselling, award-winning, and prolific author Christina Soontornvat creates a fantasy world perfect for fans of Upside Down Magic and Avatar: The Last Airbender. I look forward to the next books in the series.

Top Story (Front Desk, #5)Top Story by Kelly Yang
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I couldn’t wait to read this as soon as I finished book four in Mia Tang’s story. Yet, even though I got an advance reader copy of this, I only read it after it already published. Oh, well, what can you do?

A stronger addition to the Front Desk series. It always surprises me how much of these things were based on the author’s own life.

Ways to Build Dreams (Ryan Hart, #4)Ways to Build Dreams by Renée Watson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really appreciate this series for providing a positive outlook on life without it being saccharine.

Graphic Novels for Kids

Two TribesTwo Tribes by Emily Bowen Cohen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A complicated and captivating coming of age story with Mia trying to find where she belongs when she seems caught between her two identities of having both Jewish and Muscogee beliefs.

MexikidMexikid by Pedro Martín
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of my favorite graphic novels of 2023! I love that it’s just a boy trying to figure out his role within his large family. My favorite part was definitely him getting a bad haircut. Good for fifth grade and up.

A First Time for EverythingA First Time for Everything by Dan Santat
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For some reason I hadn’t wanted to read this despite me being a Dan Santat fan but after it won the National Book Award and with the Youth Media Awards coming up, I felt I needed to read what I’m sure will continue to win awards. And, what a wonderful coming of age slice of life moment this was that will have readers feeling the magic of being young (again).

Young Adult

Chloe and the Kaishao BoysChloe and the Kaishao Boys by Mae Coyiuto
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This Young Adult romantic-comedy novel was a refreshing change of pace from the serious and/or fantasy titles I’ve been reading by Filipino authors. I laughed out loud multiple times throughout and overlooked the predictable parts to enjoy the ride. Basically, Chloe is a Chinese-Filipina getting set up on multiple dates to round up her “roses” for her debut or 18th birthday celebration. And as if complicated emotions weren’t enough to try and figure out, she’s also planning on going to the US for college leaving her family and friends behind. Readers looking for a lighthearted read who enjoyed Crazy Rich Asians might want to give this one a try.

Money Out Loud: All the Financial Stuff No One Taught UsMoney Out Loud: All the Financial Stuff No One Taught Us by Berna Anat
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A customer recommended this book after I told them I’d been trying to read more Filipino books and I was so pleased that she did not only because I was pleasantly surprised I hadn’t even heard about it but also it’s a great nonfiction young adult book that teaches them about finance but through the eyes and experiences of a Person of Color. Berna Anat also has a great YouTube channel where she talks even more about personal finance.

Adult Fiction

In the Lives of PuppetsIn the Lives of Puppets by T.J. Klune
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Pinocchio is my favorite Disney animated film and I’ve enjoyed most of the other T.J. Klune books I’ve read so I was excited to get my hands on this. I listened to the audiobook which is a highly recommended experience. Daniel Henning was a great narrator who I’ll definitely have to seek out his other readings.

In the Lives of Puppets seems like a love letter to fairy tales in general- as well as to humanity. Nurse Ratched is probably one of my favorite characters. She made me laugh out loud. I guess when I think about it T.J. Klune’s books is perfect for parents who need stories for themselves if they’ve enjoyed some of the books they’ve read with their kids. In this case, if they enjoyed Peter Brown’s The Wild Robot, they’ll love this book.

Rubyfruit JungleRubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A raucous laugh out loud story I’d been meaning to read. I didn’t realize the author of a popular mystery solving cat series wrote a literary lesbian novel. Molly is such an outgoing personality trying to figure out where she belongs in a world that doesn’t seem to want her.

Adult Non-Fiction

Life in Five Senses: How Exploring the Senses Got Me Out of My Head and Into the WorldLife in Five Senses: How Exploring the Senses Got Me Out of My Head and Into the World by Gretchen Rubin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Gretchen Rubin does it again with her latest experiment turned book that I would say is on par with her other works The Happiness Project and The Four Tendencies. One would expect writing about the five senses- and how to be aware of them to enjoy life more fully- would be dry and boring with nothing new to learn about but with her signature conversational style, she manages to present them in a new way with lots of fascinating information. It was fun to hear bits she was working on on her podcast become sections in this book. She presents practical usage to apply what’s she written like keeping a Five Senses Journal and doing a Five-Senses Portrait. On a technical note, I enjoyed and appreciated the structure of the book including the parts she would visit the Met for each of the senses.

How Far the Light Reaches: A Life in Ten Sea CreaturesHow Far the Light Reaches: A Life in Ten Sea Creatures by Sabrina Imbler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a customer recommendation which I probably wouldn’t have picked up if I weren’t doing my Reading the Rainbow Reading Challenge since I do have so many other books to read already. And, I don’t normally tend to gravitate towards science and books about sea creatures so I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed these stories mixing facts about aforementioned sea creatures and the author’s personal life that’s wide ranging in topics discussed from being queer, mixed race, relationships, sexual assault, etc. I may need to flip through a physical copy of the book to see illustrations of the sea creatures.

Hi Honey, I'm Homo!: Sitcoms, Specials, and the Queering of American CultureHi Honey, I’m Homo!: Sitcoms, Specials, and the Queering of American Culture by Matt Baume
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you love sitcoms and learning about LGBTQ+ history, this is a great book to read. From the golden age of television to modern times, Matt Baume spotlights series that have played a role in shaping and shifting the viewing public’s perception of queer people.i was crying and laughing reading this book since it’s amazing (in both good and bad ways) how people fought to be seen and acknowledged and not ridiculed and made to feel less than. I definitely ended up going down rabbit holes on YouTube trying to find clips mentioned in the book.

Feel-Good Productivity: How to Do More of What Matters to YouFeel-Good Productivity: How to Do More of What Matters to You by Ali Abdaal
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a refreshing approach to productivity, perfect to read as we head towards a new year.

I listened to it on audiobook but I think I would have gotten more out of it reading a physical copy. Definitely wouldn’t hurt rereading it.

Making Gay History: The Half Century Fight for Lesbian and Gay Equal RightsMaking Gay History: The Half Century Fight for Lesbian and Gay Equal Rights by Eric Marcus
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A must read for anyone interested in LGBT history (in the US) told through interview snippets with people who lived and made history. It took me awhile to get through it since I kept going off on tangents after learning about some of the people in the book. I already plan on rereading this and making annotations. I really wish there was a follow up to include the next quarter century but the podcast has been a great supplement.

Graphic Novel

The Mythology Class: A Graphic NovelThe Mythology Class: A Graphic Novel by Arnold Arre
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Mythology Class should be considered alongside Watchmen as a classic graphic novel. Originally published as single-issue comics in 1999 in the Philippines, Arnold Arre’s masterpiece makes it US debut in this special edition.

Audacious and epic are just two words to describe this graphic novel featuring a hodgepodge collection of college students surprisingly and suddenly bound together to battle supernatural beings.

There are moments that were definitely signs of its times and doesn’t age well yet there is a timelessness with the story that will leave readers enthralled and completely anticipating what comes next for the characters in the upcoming sequel The Children of Bathala.

Have you read any of these?

What were some of the favorite books you read this year?

Leave a comment