The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.
With Books and Bricks: How Booker T. Washington Built a School by Suzanne Buckingham Slade, Illustrated by Nicole Tadgell [***]
With Books and Bricks: How Booker T. Washington Built a School by Suzanne Buckingham Slade, Illustrated by Nicole Tadgell [***]

An inspiring account of Booker T. Washington’s quest to ensure a proper education was available for everyone. I loved that he never gave up despite numerous setbacks and insurmountable obstacles. Truly, knowledge is power and that gave him strength.

Little Humans by Brandon Stanton [***]
Little Humans by Brandon Stanton [***]

I’d seen some posts about Brandon Stanton’s blog “Humans of New York” on my Facebook page. I was curious as to how it would translate for a much younger audience. I love the message. Fans of the Global Babies series will want to grab a copy of this!

Creature Features: Twenty-Five Animals Explain Why They Look the Way They Do by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page [***]
Creature Features: Twenty-Five Animals Explain Why They Look the Way They Do by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page [***]

Each of the animals in this picture book is asked about one of their most identifiable physical characteristic in a fun one-question interview format. Information about their size in comparison with one another, what they eat and where they live are located in the back!

The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse by Patricia MacLachlan, Illustrated by Hadley Hooper [***]
The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse by Patricia MacLachlan, Illustrated by Hadley Hooper [***]

Another impressive nonfiction picture book! The way the words flowed just made it a delight to read- and that title! The illustrations are stunning, as well. Factual with a touch of whimsy.

5 thoughts on “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #41

  1. I enjoy the Humans of New York blog–will have to look for the companion Little Humans book. I think my kids would love looking through it. I’ve been reading a lot of Steve Jenkins’s books lately–Creature Features looks like a must-purchase for me.

  2. I’d love to see the new Jenkins and Page book-sounds fun. I just received The Iridescence of Birds, love Matisse & can’t wait to open & read. Thanks for telling about The Little Human of New York, too, Earl. Those pictures are always great, so the book will be good I’m sure.

  3. I really enjoyed Jenkins’ newest, thought the format was clever and would draw students in! Interested in the Matisse book – I’ve heard some mixed reviews.

Leave a comment