New-2020-IMWAYR-Button
Thanks to Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts for this meme!

Where has time gone? I can’t believe I’m recapping August already!

I went on one of my Library Hops. I’d been wanting to go somewhere- anywhere- and feeling frustrated that I wasn’t. I was working out some logistics to see if I could go on a random library hop because, as usual, they’re very far and involves lots of public transportation. I thought maybe I was being too obsessive with wanting to visit bookstores and libraries. But, then, I figured why can’t I always want to be around places I enjoy being in? So, off I went! My first stop was over 60 miles away from Portland. It took 3 hours and 4 modes of public transportation. You can read all about it here.

I was also able to visit two bookstores in August- Second Chance Books and Bookish. Actually, after I visited the latter, I ended up checking out the relocated Floated World Comics who are betting that their move to a (dying) mall will revive the place. Here’s hoping it does.

fwc

I had gone during their grand re-opening so it was jampacked. I decided to go on a quieter day to take a picture of it.

I also some fun socializing nights with various people- including going bowling and having game nights. It seemed like old times getting to do those things again.

I completed a month-long commitment being part of a committee reading upcoming debut novels of middle grade and young adult writers. I even had the opportunity to talk to a couple authors telling them the good news we were going to spotlight their books. I’ll share the books closer to their release dates since they won’t be published until Winter/Spring 2023.

So far in 2022, I’ve read 387 books.

The breakdown is:

12- Adult novels

6- Adult non-fiction

33- Graphic novels

57- Middle Grade novels (Goal: 52)

268- Picture Books and Board Books

11- Young Adult novels

of which

112- Nonfiction Picture Books (Goal: 104)

38- Audio Books

23- Books by Filipino Authors and/or Illustrators

68- Books by LGBTQ+ Authors and/or Illustrators

 

One Year in BeijingOne Year in Beijing by Xiaohong Wang
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As some of you may or may not know already, I’m hoping to read all of Grace Lin’s bibliography this year. I seem to be constantly coming across picture books that I didn’t realize she illustrated including this one!

View all my reviews

The Jade NecklaceThe Jade Necklace by Paul Yee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fascinating story I probably wouldn’t have known about if it weren’t illustrated by Grace Lin- and even then that would have been iffy since I didn’t even know she had done the art in this book.

View all my reviews

When Megan Went AwayWhen Megan Went Away by Jane Severance
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Originally published in 1979, this groundbreaking picture book features the separation between two women and how a child’s life- and her mom’s- suddenly gets uprooted. Quite powerful.

View all my reviews

Molly's FamilyMolly’s Family by Nancy Garden
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’d just finished reading Nancy Garden’s YA classic Annie on My Mind recently and I’d been clamoring for more LGBTQ+ books so was pleasantly surprised to come across this picture book of hers first published in 2004. A young girl gets made fun of when she insists that she has both a Mommy and a Mama. A nice story tackling the various family make-ups there are.

View all my reviews

PatchworkPatchwork by Matt de la Peña
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of my favorite picture books of the year! Beautiful message of being more than just one thing, that we are a patchwork of all our emotions and our experiences. Also, I loved that it says we aren’t confined by one label, that we contain multitudes. The artwork is stunning.

View all my reviews

Crunch (Click, #5)Crunch by Kayla Miller
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I always enjoy catching up with Olive and what she’s up to. And what she’s up to in this one is a lot! A very relatable topic for both kids and adults.

View all my reviews

Mulan: Before the SwordMulan: Before the Sword by Grace Lin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I actually put off reading this novel because I was worried some of Grace Lin’s storytelling style would be somehow diminished since this was under Disney’s supervision. But I needn’t have worried. I soon found myself magically swept into the story.

View all my reviews

I had been trying The StoryGraph for the first half of this year to avoid the Amazon-owned Goodreads. Unfortunately, it didn’t provide the convenience Goodreads offered so I’m back using Goodreads.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- September 5, 2022 / My August Recap

  1. Wow, Earl—your bookstore and library adventures look like way too much fun!! I need to do something like that eventually. All the books illustrated by Grace Lin look so cool for the simple fact that they’re illustrated by Grace Lin—I also didn’t quite click with Mulan: Before the Sword, but I’m really glad you enjoyed it! When Megan Went Away and Molly’s Family both look groundbreaking, and I also now want to track down Patchwork and Crunch—basically, if I can completely duplicate your reading week, that would be great, thanks! 😉 Thanks so much for the wonderful post, Earl!

Leave a comment