Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: October 14, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse by Patricia MacLachlan, Illustrated by Hadley Hooper [***]
The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse by Patricia MacLachlan, Illustrated by Hadley Hooper [***]

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating being a reading machine!
Read my reviews for:

Evil LibrarianEvil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fun! Fun! Fun!

Any book that mentions the American Library Association and in which a musical takes center stage is a good book to me!

Demons are prowling everywhere in Cynthia’s school and it’s up to her and the boy of her dreams to rescue everyone before it’s too late. With the fresh and witty dialogue and ridiculously over-the-top situations, I can’t wait for the next book.

(I’m assuming there’s at least one more book based on the ending.)

View all my reviews

The Jacket by Kirstin Hall, Illustrated by Dasha Tolstikova [**]
The Jacket by Kirstin Hall, Illustrated by Dasha Tolstikova [**]

Sweet story about the perfect book and what happens when an overly excited dog gets its dirty little paws into it. I love the activity included in the book to make your own dustjacket or book cover!

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers [***]
Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers [***]

A very winning and charming picture book that will most likely be my #1 pick for the holidays. I just loved everything about it. It’s not at all like your typical alphabet book. There are all kinds of references and callbacks to other short stories in the books and even his other works. A must read!

Zero by Kathryn Otoshi [**]
Zero by Kathryn Otoshi [**]

I wasn’t going to read Zero because I didn’t like One. But I enjoyed this one. Kids will enjoy this story and message of self-worth.

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading lots of middle grade novels for the CYBILS awards.

Have a great reading week!

15 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (117) #IMWAYR – October 19, 2014

  1. I have a copy of Evil Librarian that I need to read– may have to move it to the top of the TBR (unless I get some more Cybils titles from the public library.)!

  2. That’s interesting you didn’t like One but you liked Zero. I felt the opposite. It’s not that I didn’t like Zero, I just didn’t think it was as powerful as One.

    I am very impatiently waiting for Sam and Dave Dig a Hole to come in at my library.

  3. The idea of Evil Librarian sounds great, Earl. I appreciate that you share all the reviews from the week, went back to see about those early ones. I’ve put the Jeffers book on my wish list, am sure it’s great. I’m glad you shared it!

  4. I finished Evil Librarian yesterday. I gave it 4 Stars. I really enjoyed but I feel like it dragged on a little bit. If there really is a second book coming out, I’m looking forward to it.

  5. I’ve added Once Upon an Alphabet to my list! It looks adorable, and I take your recommendations to heart. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Will definitely check out the Oliver Jeffers title – love how ingenious he is and how his works seem to continually evolve. Evil Librarian also sounds pretty interesting. Thanks for sharing a lot of books here, Earl! 🙂

Leave a comment