Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

lgbtbd
I’m having an LGBT Book Drive to benefit Basic Rights Oregon. Being LGBT can be isolating. Whenever we see ourselves in others, even in the pages of a book, there’s hope that we aren’t alone.

This week, I posted:

New Releases– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel by Kathryn Gibbs Davis, Illustrated by Gilbert Ford
Mr. Ferris and His Wheel by Kathryn Gibbs Davis, Illustrated by Gilbert Ford

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating

Captain Awesome to the Rescue!Captain Awesome to the Rescue! by Stan Kirby
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Um, yeah, I’m definitely not the target audience for this one. The writing was not that strong. Some of the chapters seemed to end in media res with no follow up. I guess kids might enjoy the humor and the premise.

View all my reviews

Gabriel Finley and the Raven's RiddleGabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle by George Hagen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of fantasy (Which at this day and age means if you like Harry Potter) will find this an enjoyable read- especially if readers like riddles. The world and characters are not as complex but I like the take on Norse mythology featuring Huginn and Muninn.

View all my reviews

Kingsman: The Secret ServiceKingsman: The Secret Service by Mark Millar
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This adult graphic novel is what the current movie starring Colin Firth is based on. It’s about a troubled teen taken in by his uncle to learn super agent spy skills. Meanwhile, celebrities are being kidnapped and it’s up to them to uncover and stop a very diabolical plot. Flashy and funny at the same time.

View all my reviews

Slumber PartySlumber Party by Christopher Pike
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Good old Pike. Slumber Party is your standard YA thriller genre that I still say was in its peak in the late 80’s through mid 90’s. A group of friends have a ski weekend but mysterious fire-related incidents keep happening that recalls an accident from their past. What I love(d) about Pike’s books were that they seemed edgy at the time.

There’s something about rereading books. You pick up the clues that the writer has planted. You also appreciate the structure of the story more.

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Twelve Steps to a Compassionate LifeTwelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

If not completely new in terms of its lessons in being kind to oneself and others, I do feel this is an important book one should read. And to get the most of it, one should reread and apply the steps to one’s own life.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Have a great reading week!

6 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (137) #IMWAYR – March 8, 2015

  1. You are amazing. The fact that you are dedicating yourself to this book drive is incredible. You are a rockstar.

Leave a comment