New-2020-IMWAYR-Button
Thanks to Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts for this meme!

 

I guess the biggest thing that happened in July was that I celebrated my ten year anniversary at work which you can read about here.

cheers

Other good things that happened were:

-I’ve been meeting up with a couple of my co-workers every week for a writing session.

-I reached and surpassed my goal of doing 100 volunteer hours.

-I reached and surpassed my goal of reading 104 nonfiction picture books.

Even though, it doesn’t seem like a big deal, I’m quite proud of myself for having kept a cat alive. A couple of my housemates went away so I watched their cat for what ended up close to a month. I don’t like animals and never had a pet before so this was a huge learning curve. I have to say I didn’t come out of it liking animals any more than before nor did I want to suddenly have my own.

So far in 2022, I’ve read 354 books. The breakdown is:
12- Adult novels
6- Adult non-fiction
27- Graphic novels
51- Middle Grade novels (Goal: 52)
249- Picture Books and Board Books
79- Young Adult novels

of which
107- Nonfiction Picture Books (Goal: 104)
37- Audio Books

15- Books by Filipino Authors and/or Illustrators

64- Books by LGBTQ+ Authors and/or Illustrators

I had been trying The StoryGraph for the first half of this year to avoid the Amazon-owned Goodreads. Unfortunately, it didn’t provide the convenience Goodreads offered so I’m back using Goodreads.

I thought I reviewed more of the books I actually read but apparently not.

I really hate the formatting on WordPress. So, apologies for the weird spacing issues.

A Spoonful of FrogsA Spoonful of Frogs by Casey Lyall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Hilarious. Fun read-aloud for fans of cooking shows. If Julia Child was a witch and one of her ingredients was out of control.

Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ LeadersKind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders by Sarah Prager
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This introductory picture book on LGBTQ+ leaders was a bit too bare bones for my liking. It’s great to see them but a slightly longer biography for each of them would have been nice.

Hooves or Hands?Hooves or Hands? by Rosie Haine
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun book for inquisitive minds that may inspire them to continue this train of thought- or to come up with new interesting questions.

A Butterfly Is PatientA Butterfly Is Patient by Dianna Hutts Aston
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Gorgeous illustrations with lyrical text make learning about butterflies easy and enjoyable.

You can view all my reviews over on Goodreads.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- August 1, 2022 / My July Recap

  1. Congratulations on 10 years at Green Bean Books, Earl! I hopped over to your post on memories of working there, and it sounds like such a wonderful experience. And taking care of a cat for a month is a huge accomplishment, even if it didn’t change your opinion of pets much! (I don’t think I’d be much of a pet person either.) And all of these books look excellent—I made note of A Spoonful of Frogs because I loved a novel by the author Casey Lyall (called Howard Wallace, P.I.), and I love everything by the illustrator Vera Brosgol! Thanks so much for the wonderful post!

  2. Congratulations on your 10th anniversary at Green Bean Books. It sounds like a wonderful place to work. Thanks for sharing these lovely books today.

  3. Congratulations on your anniversary, I enjoyed reading your top 10 and am certainly placing it on my list if I am ever in Portland. I am also moving Spoonful of Frogs onto my PB list. Thanks for the post.

  4. Congratulations on your ten-year anniversary! Thanks for this week’s recommendations. They are all new to me.

Leave a comment