Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating the Cybils Awards for introducing me to books I normally wouldn’t have read. Read my reviews for:

Two by Kathryn Otoshi [*]
Two by Kathryn Otoshi [*]

There was a fifty-fifty chance I was going to like this picture book based on her other two books but unfortunately I didn’t like it. The message is one of friendship, which I appreciated.

Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells [**]
Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells [**]

I read this for this year’s Read for the Record. At first, I was iffy about their choice but I realized what a great read-aloud this is. I also like the fact that it incorporates sight words.

The Red PencilThe Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Told in verse, and based on real life situations in Sudan, this is the story of a country and family ruined by war and a girl who wishes she’s able to go to school. This can be recommended to people who are inspired by Nobel Prize winner Malala Yousafzai’s story- of how education for everyone is important to fight for. Illustrations decorate the pages.

View all my reviews

Hank Has a Dream by Rebecca Dudley [**]
Hank Has a Dream by Rebecca Dudley [**]

A sequel to Hank Finds an Egg, Hank Has a Dream is equally charming in the dioramas it uses to tell the story. Unlike the first one, though, this isn’t wordless, which I wonder if I would have like more if it were!

ABC Disney Pop-Up by Robert Sabuda [**]
ABC Disney Pop-Up by Robert Sabuda [**]

I love paper engineering and Robert Sabuda is definitely a master of this art form! It was fun to see the characters pop up!

Owl at Home by Arnold Lobel [**]
Owl at Home by Arnold Lobel [**]

Recommended to me, and I’m surprised I hadn’t read this yet considering I love Frog and Toad. Charming but not my favorite.

Naptime by Iris de Moüy, Translated by Shelley Tanaka [*]
Naptime by Iris de Moüy, Translated by Shelley Tanaka [*]

I was taken by the illustrations but wasn’t impressed by the story. In fact, I had read this last week and just forgot about it until now!

The Gentleman Bat by Abraham Schroeder, Illustrated by Piotr Parda [**]
The Gentleman Bat by Abraham Schroeder, Illustrated by Piotr Parda [**]

An old-fashioned tale told in verse about some rather fancy bats.

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading a book for our upcoming Family Book Club- plus, more Cybils books!

Have a great reading week!

5 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (118) #IMWAYR – October 26, 2014

  1. I love Max and Ruby, glad to see another story about them-Bunny Cakes. And I remember my kids and I loved Owl At Home a long time ago-will have to re-visit it to see what I think now. Thanks for all, Earl-lots of books again!

  2. For me, “Two” was such a timely book because my daughter has had so many problems at school with this idea – being friends with someone and having to let that third person in. She’s unfortunately the one that is always pushed out. I wanted to bring this book in and read it to her entire grade level!
    The Red Pencil is a book that I would like to get to soon. We’ll see how the week goes!

  3. Owl at Home–in fact all the Arnold Lobels–were favorites of mine as a child. I’ve revisited most of his books reading aloud to my kids and find the Frog & Toad stories still work best. I really want to see Hank Has a Dream but I think I wish it were wordless!

Leave a comment