Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

-We Give Books: Christmas 2014- Read my review for:

12 Days of Christmas by Rachel Isadora [***]
12 Days of Christmas by Rachel Isadora [***]

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Christmas!

To Be Read 2015– I created a list of 52 titles I want to read (excluding picture books) in 2015.

Betty Goes Bananas by Steve Antony [***]
Betty Goes Bananas by Steve Antony [***]

This is a hilarious story of a gorilla who finds a banana that she can’t figure out how to open. I was hesitant to read this at first but now find I will be recommending this a lot!

And Away We Go! by Migy [**]
And Away We Go! by Migy [**]

This was recommended to me a lot. I thought it was cute and I liked the illustrations more than the text actually.

Winter Walk by Virginia Brimhall Snow [**]
Winter Walk by Virginia Brimhall Snow [**]

I had thought this was a companion book to a book I liked but wasn’t. This has beautiful illustrations though and I liked how the colors popped out on every page. Instructions on how to make a paper snowflake and a pine cone bird feeder- as well as some fun winter trivia- can be found at the end of the book.

Rocket's 100th Day of School by Tad Hills [**]
Rocket’s 100th Day of School by Tad Hills [**]

Another beginning reader addition to the Rocket series finds him having to bring 100 special things to school.

Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light [***]
Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light [***]

For some reason, I thought this was a sequel. And, for some reason, I didn’t want to read it. But I’m glad I actually read it because it’s a sweet story about siblings and creativity.

Everything I Need to Know About Love I Learned From a Little Golden BookEverything I Need to Know About Love I Learned From a Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I think this series is something that kind of has diminishing returns of enjoyment the more they put out. I thought the first book was super cute and have given it out as gifts. While the message is cute and the illustrations still bring on the nostalgia, I really hope this is the last one!

View all my reviews

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

The Girls of GettysburgThe Girls of Gettysburg by Bobbi Miller
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Three very different girls. Three very different circumstances. One day will change their lives forever.

Using lots of research, Bobbi Miller crafts multiple storylines taking place around the battle of Gettysburg. One is a slave girl. One is a girl from a well-to-do family. One is a girl posing as a boy to become a soldier.

I think readers will enjoy reading a side of the war they may not have been familiar with and most likely will find something they relate to with the characters.

View all my reviews

Nickel Bay NickNickel Bay Nick by Dean Pitchford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

An eleven-year-old boy from a broken family and a depressed town lashes out by vandalizing other people’s properties and stealing with his other no good friends. After one close call from the cops, he finds himself working for his mysterious neighbor. Suddenly, he’s part of a secret that he’s not sure he can handle.

This festive middle grade novel is sure to charm readers who crave adventure and mystery with a touch of heart.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m hoping to read my final Must Read in 2014 title- Christopher Pike’s Black Knight!

Have a great reading week!

7 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (127) #IMWAYR – December 28, 2014

  1. Nickel Bay Nick sounds good for certain students, Earl, & I do love the look of Winter Walk, sort of like Winter is Coming? I’ve seen several say good things about Louise Loves Art-will pick it up at the library. Happy New Year to you! Thanks always for so many good titles!

  2. That’s so funny you didn’t want to read Louise Loves Art because I kind of felt the same way about it. The title and cover illustration left me feeling a bit “meh.” Until I read it, that is. I ended up really loving it.

  3. I loved Louise Loves Art – I adored the first page.
    I just got the new book in the Saturn Could Sail book, looking forward to reading it in the next few days!
    Happy New Year!

Leave a comment