Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my sister.

Yesterday would have been Charmaine’s birthday. She would have been 28. She passed away in December of 2010.

While she should have had many more years ahead of her, I can see how her life was a full one.

She was a mother, daughter, sister, wife, friend, granddaughter, niece, aunt, and just in general a great human being.

I am reminded of her in the simple things. In happy moments, I like to think she’s there sharing it with me.

I know she wouldn’t want me to be sad.

By celebrating Charmaine, I’m celebrating life and love.

What are you celebrating this week?

5 thoughts on “Celebrate This Week- February 8, 2014

  1. Love, loss, and celebration of life. I am sorry for your loss. Four years is too short of a time to vanish sadness. Your words honor your sister and her memory.

  2. Loving and being loved is still on of the greatest gifts our lives offer while loss of a loved one is the greatest sadness – I suspect your sister would be glad you are celebrating her life and memory. This week I chose to “celebrate” the anniversary of my brother’s passing 5 years ago by doing random acts of kindness all day. I left a huge tip at Dunkin Donuts (his fav) and gave “extra” stickers (he loved to collect things as a boy) to all my students. No one needed to know why…..but I know he would have been happy just as your sister would be to know you remember and still celebrate her (too short) life.

Leave a comment