RSS

What Are You Reading? (105) #IMWAYR – July 27, 2014

27 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey's album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

Daydreams & Fairy Tales: A Collection of Words and Images (Inspired by Mariah Carey’s album Daydream) will be available as an e-book October 3, 2014! (This is a picture of my notebook for it, not the cover!)

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:


Celebrate This Week– This week I’m celebrating trying and the book Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff! Read my review for:
Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]


Bonny Becker’s Bear and Mouse books have been quite popular and it only took the latest installment for me to try it out. Bear has all the books he needs so he doubts he’ll enjoy going to the library with mouse. But of course a library is more than just books and Bear is in for a surprise!

A bookseller saw me reading this book and she gushed over A Visitor for Bear so I just had to read it. It’s cute but Mouse seemed like a mooch to me.

My Teacher Is a Monster! (No, I Am Not.) by Peter Brown [**]- Peter Brown is another one of those authors that everyone but me seems to love. Not that I don't like his books- because I do- and it's not that I don't like his illustrations- because I do- but I'm just not that crazy over him. I do recommend his books a lot though like I'm sure I will with this book!

My Teacher Is a Monster! (No, I Am Not.) by Peter Brown [**]- Peter Brown is another one of those authors that everyone but me seems to love. Not that I don’t like his books- because I do- and it’s not that I don’t like his illustrations- because I do- but I’m just not that crazy over him. I do recommend his books a lot though like I’m sure I will with this book!

Goodnight Darth Vader by Jeffrey Brown [*]- Definitely not as good as the other books in the series. Maybe my not having watched the movies made me like it less since I didn't get all the references. Some of the rhyming was so bad I had to reread the lines to make sure I was reading the right words.

Goodnight Darth Vader by Jeffrey Brown [*]- Definitely not as good as the other books in the series. Maybe my not having watched the movies made me like it less since I didn’t get all the references. Some of the rhyming was so bad I had to reread the lines to make sure I was reading the right words.

Andrew Draws by David McPhail [**]- This picture book has cute illustrations and lots of heart an humor. I didn't like the ending. (Oh, at first, I thought this was a reprint of Barney Saltzberg's Andrew Drew and Drew!)

Andrew Draws by David McPhail [**]- This picture book has cute illustrations and lots of heart an humor. I didn’t like the ending. (Oh, at first, I thought this was a reprint of Barney Saltzberg’s Andrew Drew and Drew!)

For my Summer of Narnia Reading Challenge:

The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis, Illustrated by Pauline Baynes [***]- This has been the bleakest Narnia yet. Some scenes seemed to have no end in sight. It may be because none of the Pevensies were in this book so I didn't really care about the characters all that much. And, a piece of furniture as a source of evil? Puh-lease! Despite all that, this was entertaining- as part of a larger story. At some parts, C.S. Lewis' writing seemed to have improved. I loved the speech in the cave about beliefs. And, Puddleglum was quite hilarious in an Eeyore (of Winnie-the-Pooh) and Sheldon (of The Big Bang Theory) way.

The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis, Illustrated by Pauline Baynes [***]- This has been the bleakest Narnia yet. Some scenes seemed to have no end in sight. It may be because none of the Pevensies were in this book so I didn’t really care about the characters all that much. And, a piece of furniture as a source of evil? Puh-lease!
Despite all that, this was entertaining- as part of a larger story. At some parts, C.S. Lewis’ writing seemed to have improved. I loved the speech in the cave about beliefs.
And, Puddleglum was quite hilarious in an Eeyore (of Winnie-the-Pooh) and Sheldon (of The Big Bang Theory) way.

Expect a review of this book on Wednesday:

Read to Your Bunny by Rosemary Wells [**]

Read to Your Bunny by Rosemary Wells [**]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

As always, I’m hoping to finish another Narnia book and another nonfiction picture book and hopefully the selection for the Family Book Club.

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (105) #IMWAYR – July 27, 2014

  1. The Styling Librarian

    July 27, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Happy cartwheel, we agree on Absolutely Almost! 🙂 Favorite of mine for the year. Good to know about Goodnight Darth Vader, was going to pick it up… Good to visit Green Bean Books again, fabulous to get there on an author signing day!

     
  2. Mysterious Bibliophile

    July 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    I am looking forward to finishing the Chronicles of Narnia with my kids.

     
  3. Linda Baie

    July 28, 2014 at 5:12 am

    I’m not sure I’ve seen these ‘bear’ books, so will look for them, Earl. There are so many out there that I forget which ones I’ve read! Happy you loved Absolutely Almost. I missed your review because I was on vacation, but I loved it too. Can’t wait to share ti with colleagues! Have a terrific week!

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    July 28, 2014 at 5:57 am

    You read some fantastic books this week. I hear ya on the Peter Brown books. I enjoy them too, but I don’t go head over heels in love with them. I especially felt that way about Mr. Tiger Goes Wild last year. I liked it, didn’t love it, and kind of felt like the illustrations were trying to look like Jon Klassen’s.

    I’m looking forward to reading Goodnight Darth Vader. Such a fun series. I like it much better than the Jedi Academy books.

     
  5. Kathy Martin

    July 28, 2014 at 6:27 am

    Nice assortment of books. I have heard good things about the Peter Brown book but I’m not a fan of his style of illustration. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

     
  6. Michele

    July 28, 2014 at 11:19 am

    I’ve been waiting to see a 5 star review from you! I was beginning to wonder what it would take. It’s good to not rate everything highly. Save something for the books that really speak to you. Glad it was saved for Albie. What a book!

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 28, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    I think the Darth Vader books make a lot more sense if you’ve seen the movies. Sometimes I don’t get some of the references, and I have seen them.
    I need to get Absolutely Almost. Everyone loves it, so I know I will.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 29, 2014 at 9:01 am

    This is my third time trying to post a comment. Let’s see if it works!

    I take your five-star reviews very seriously because you give them out so sparingly. I am going to need to read Absolutely Almost now that I see your high rating. Thank you for sharing!

    (*Crosses fingers* Please post, please post!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
