Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

SMART Book Reviews– Check post for reviews of the following:

Thanks and Giving (2013)– Check post for reviews of the following:

Flashback Friday: My Reading Life 2008

Celebrate This Week– In which I celebrate being a bookseller and the awesomeness of Indies First. And I asked the question: What’s your favorite local indie bookstore?

I read a lot of Mo Willems the past couple of days because I set out to read all his books this year and I’m very close to not finish it. Again and again, I was just surprised by how simple but not simplistic his stories were. Always entertaining and great for kids. Time to Say “Please”! comes with a game board kids can play to teach them even more about manners.

The Latke Who Couldn't Stop Screaming by Lemony Snicket, Illustrated by Lisa Brown [**]- I'm not particularly a fan of Lemony Snicket but found this story to be entertaining- lots of laughs mixed in while learning some facts about Hannukah, and just has a perfect ending. The characters and humor both just meshed together well.
The Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming by Lemony Snicket, Illustrated by Lisa Brown [**]- I’m not particularly a fan of Lemony Snicket but found this story to be entertaining- lots of laughs mixed in while learning some facts about Hannukah, and just has a perfect ending. The characters and humor both just meshed together well.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m in various stages of reading the following:

Have a great reading week!

UPDATED 12/1: I was seeing #nerdlution a lot on my Twitter feed and was curious as to what it was. A nerdlution is basically a resolution challenge by Nerdy Book Clubbers. Since I’m all about goal-setting, I wanted to take part. I was going to write a separate post but decided to keep things simple.

My #nerdlutions are to:
Write everyday for 30 minutes
Read everyday for 30 minutes

Round One is a 50-day phase starting December 2nd until January 20th. Encouragements and updates can be tracked on Twitter using the hashtag #nerdlution.

10 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (71) #IMWAYR – December 1, 2013

  1. I’ve wanted to read Quiet for some time. One of these days! Good luck on your #nerdlution goals! They sound fun. 🙂 Mine is to write and walk for 20-30 minutes each every day.

  2. Song of the Quarkbeast is high in my TBR “pile.” Is it as great as The Last Dragonslayer?
    Also, good luck with your #nerdlutions. I had a successful first day….

  3. I smiled when you mentioned that you are in various stages of reading three books – I must be in the same boat, I have three or four that I’m reading at the same time, on top of my professional development books that I would be using for my teaching. Mo Willems is so prolific. I could understand why you haven’t read all of his PBs yet. By the way, are you familiar with Mo Willems’ “You can never find a rickshaw when it monsoons: The World on One Cartoon a Day” – that one is amazing. Autobiographical.

Leave a comment