Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

The Good

I always appreciate feedback, especially if it’s positive. This was a “not recommended review” (thereby hidden) from Yelp:

“i try not to focus a review on a staff member but EARL IS A GEM, he has read all the books and gets you excited about asking for his recommendation! also the shop its self sells miniatures and cuteness overload, people of all ages should go here! much more relaxing then the other giant book stores and library’s in the area.”

The Bad

I just accidentally messed up my blog thinking I knew what I was doing connecting it with my new domain name. Headache inducing!

I think the home page isn’t accessible at this point but individual posts are still up and running!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: August 26, 2014– Read my reviews for:


Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my review for:
A Rock Is Lively by Dianna Hutts Aston, Illustrated by Sylvia Long [***]
A Rock Is Lively by Dianna Hutts Aston, Illustrated by Sylvia Long [***]

Celebrate This Week– I celebrate books- again! Read my review for:
Wings of Fire #1: The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland
Wings of Fire #1: The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland [**]

Reading Resolutions: August Update

The Troublemaker by Lauren Castillo [*]
The Troublemaker by Lauren Castillo [*]

This just wasn’t for me, I guess. I liked the illustrations fine. The story was kind of cute.

On Crosswords: Thoughts, Studies, Facts and Snark About a 100-Year-Old Pastime by T. Campbell [**]
On Crosswords: Thoughts, Studies, Facts and Snark About a 100-Year-Old Pastime by T. Campbell [**]

I don’t know how many books about crosswords I’ve read over the years but it’s probably more than anyone has to read. New information is rare but I guess it’s in the presentation. I can’t get enough though especially with the crossword’s centennial having been celebrated earlier this year.

Otis and the Scarecrow by Loren Long [**]
Otis and the Scarecrow by Loren Long [**]

I like Loren Long’s Otis series because of it feel so American to me. Does that make sense? It has tradition and values. This one, though, fell flat to me. At least, the way they handled the scarecrow’s expression at the end was interesting. The illustrations remain pleasant to look at!

Mr. Brown's Fantastic Hat by Ayano Imai [**]
Mr. Brown’s Fantastic Hat by Ayano Imai [**]

Another story about hats and friendship. The illustrations are very striking in this one. Reminds me of The Lion and the Bird by Marianne Dubuc but I actually like this one more!

The Public Library: A Photographic Essay by Robert Dawson [***]
The Public Library: A Photographic Essay
by Robert Dawson [***]

Anyone who knows me knows I love libraries.

I can appreciate what is being done with this book but I wish it went deeper. Plus, I wish it had mentioned Friends of the Library or Friends Foundations.

The essays were wonderfully written though!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I am reading Junot Diaz’s This is How You Lose Her and am currently not liking it. At least, it’s short!

I also picked up a book of Hafiz’s poetry. Plus, I have a book for #NFPB2014.

I’ve also checked out books for a reading theme I want to do either in September or October.

Have a great reading week!

12 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (110) #IMWAYR – August 31, 2014

  1. Busy week! I did love the new Holm book, but the Tui Sutherland- my students adore the series, but I’m not a huge fan of talking animals, and this is like Warriors with dragons (which makes sense, considering the author wrote some for Warriors!) I need to get organized so I can have as productive a week as you have had!

  2. Many of my third grade boys have been very into Wings of Fire – glad to hear you had enthusiastic girls reading it too. Will have to see if it spreads!

  3. I’m so sorry you didn’t like Troublemaker! I just think it’ll be so much fun to read with kids.
    I cannot wait to read Little Elliot (waiting from the library) and 14th Goldfish (no excuse).

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  4. I want to order Little Elliot Big City. Really like the illustrations there. I loved the Junot Diaz collection. I listened to it on audio, and he narrates himself in this voice that’s so compelling to me. Hopefully it picks up for you, but if it doesn’t, as you say it’s a short fast read!

  5. I really wanted to read The Fourteenth Goldfish. I was accepted by NetGalley. The next day, I went to retrieve it, and it was archived. Boo! Oh well. Next time I will have to be quicker about it. Thanks for sharing all of these books with us!

  6. I started reading The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao but ended up abandoning it – I just couldn’t connect to the main character. I think a Junot Diaz novel is an acquired taste – there is grit and strength in the narrative, but the characters are fairly unlikeable. I have a feeling I’d love Mr. Brown’s Fantastic Hat. The book cover alone is gorgeous! 🙂

  7. I LOVED Fourteenth Goldfish…. I’m a scifi gal and I loved how Jenni Holm got just enough science fiction into the story to appeal to those readers, but enough realistic fiction to draw in others. I’ll have to look for Day Dreamers (and buy a copy of Quest)

Leave a comment