lgbtbd
I’m having an LGBT Book Drive to benefit Basic Rights Oregon. Being LGBT can be isolating. Whenever we see ourselves in others, even in the pages of a book, there’s hope that we aren’t alone.

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Review: Hook’s Revenge
hooksrevenge

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Seattle and all the bookstore and libraries I visited during my trip!

Review: Heather Has Two Mommies

Dreams of Freedom: In Words and Pictures by Amnesty International, Various contributors
Dreams of Freedom: In Words and Pictures by Amnesty International, Various contributors

[***] All kinds of freedom children should have is paired with a positive quote and an illustration from an international artist.

Oh, Oh, Baby Boy! by Janine Macbeth
Oh, Oh, Baby Boy! by Janine Macbeth

[***] This was a requested title at work. The illustrations depict an ethnic family and the story is multi-generational. I appreciated that fatherhood was being portrayed in a positive light which I think is sadly not talked about enough.

The Bus Ride by Marianne Dubuc
The Bus Ride by Marianne Dubuc

[***] This is a visual treat. I love all the details in the illustrations.

Her Idea by Rilla
Her Idea by Rilla

[***] This is a beautiful tribute to creativity. Sozi is a girl with no shortage of ideas. One day they start to disappear as she tries to rein them in. Can she get unstuck?

A Line Can Be . . . by Laura Ljungkvist
A Line Can Be . . . by Laura Ljungkvist

[**] In this fun concept book, readers can follow the line through sets of opposites and ending in a most unlikely place.

Five, Six, Seven, Nate!Five, Six, Seven, Nate! by Tim Federle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Tim Federle’s Five, Six, Seven, Nate! is the hilarious follow up to Better Nate than Ever! And, man, if you liked the first one, you’ll love this! You can’t help but root for Nate the underdog as he discovers life in a big city away from home and his best friend. But that’s the price you pay for living out your dreams, right? For anyone who has ever felt like an outsider, these books are for you!

I decided to listen to the audiobook version of the book since I had listened to the first one last year. Revisiting the story was such a treat!

View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I finally watched the movie Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory starring Gene Wilder. I’m not quite sure I liked it. (And, aside from “Pure Imagination,” the songs weren’t that good.) It was both creepy and magical. I can’t imagine kids not being afraid of the Oompa-Loompas and that boat ride scene was just terrifying!

The book was able to better capture the moralistic aspect of the story. I was sadly underwhelmed by it. Charlie was barely a character. Everything basically just happened around him.

View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

7 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (140) #IMWAYR – March 29, 2015

  1. I enjoyed Hook’s Revenge, but can’t get anyone to read it! I’m replacing my copies of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Great Glass Elevator, because they were rebound and horrible. Looks like you have a lot of good things to read!

  2. Hook’s Revenge looks like a great read. I adore the cover of Oh, Oh, Baby Boy! We’ve still got the original Heather Has Two Mommies. I like the idea of updating it, but ours still works. It would be interesting to see them side by side.

  3. Love your reminder about LBGT literature. I think that is one of the reasons why I love Nate so much. It isn’t about sexuality, but it allows LBGT youth to see themselves in a character.
    Hook’s Revenge is on my #mustreadin2015—I can’t wait to read it!
    I adore books that promote creativity. I’ll need to check out Her Idea.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  4. The Bus Ride looks like it would have beautiful illustrations. I need to check that one out.

    A Line Can Be looks interesting, too. Thanks for alerting me to these titles. Will have to see if my library has them.

  5. Dreams of Freedom looks fantastic. Thank you for sharing it! I hadn’t heard of it, and now I will have to get a copy. 🙂 Have a happy week, Earl!

  6. You have some great books listed here. I loved Better Nate than Ever, and Five, Six, Seven, Nate is next on my to-read list. I think you’re right– it is so important for us to have a variety of books so that there are characters all kids can relate to.

  7. I truly am excited to read the Nate series. I have both books now. Loved seeing the new book of Marianne Dubuc – I just love her style. 🙂

Leave a comment