This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating the impact of words- and other things!

The Most Wonderful Thing in The WorldThe Most Wonderful Thing in The World by Vivian French
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
In this fairy tale, a king and queen are ready to find the perfect suitor for their daughter- without her knowing it. They give a call for potential suitors to show them “the most wonderful thing in the world” and whoever does will marry the princess. Unbeknownst to them, the princess is discovering the world for the first time and will lead to a surprising fairy tale ending.
View all my reviews

 

B is for Bear: A Natural AlphabetB is for Bear: A Natural Alphabet by Hannah Viano
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I recently got to see Hannah Viano speak about her books and her writing process. She even brought specimens and did a demonstration of her cut paper art.

While S is for Salmon focused on the Pacific Northwest where she’s from, B is for Bear is more an invitation to kids explore the outdoors wherever they are!
View all my reviews

 

Two MiceTwo Mice by Sergio Ruzzier
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I wasn’t originally going to read this but apparently it was a pre-award dark horse. Simple concept and format with cute illustrations make this a fun read-aloud.
View all my reviews

 

Shhh! This Book is SleepingShhh! This Book is Sleeping by Cédric Ramadier
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Kids help put the book to sleep in this Press Here-ish type book. The interactivity didn’t really work for me but I’m sure some kids will enjoy this.
View all my reviews

 

 

Miss Moon: Wise Words from a Dog GovernessMiss Moon: Wise Words from a Dog Governess by Janet Hill
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I didn’t know what to expect with this picture book. I don’t really care for dogs but I guess it was the cover illustration that drew me. In this odd book, Miss Moon shares life lessons she’s learned over the years as a Dog Governess. This would be a great gift for dog lovers regardless of age.
View all my reviews

 

What’s the Opposite? (The Hueys)What’s the Opposite? by Oliver Jeffers
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Yay, it’s the last book in the series. I didn’t really care for the Hueys but I surprisingly enjoyed this one. But maybe I was just overthrilled that this was the last one.
View all my reviews

 

Over-Scheduled AndrewOver-Scheduled Andrew by Ashley Spires
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I don’t know how Ashley Spires does it but she always manages to write books that have appeal to both kids and adults- and me, personally. I could definitely relate to Andrew- and I know of some kids who come to the store that I get exhausted just listening to what they have planned over the weekend! A fun read.
View all my reviews

 

Mr. Lemoncello's Library OlympicsMr. Lemoncello’s Library Olympics by Chris Grabenstein
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
More puzzles. More riddles. More fun than the first Lemoncello book if that’s even possible!

The stakes are bigger this time around. Kids from all over the country are invited to participate in the first-ever Library Olympics. Kyle and his friends need to step up their game to defend their winner status.

Then books start disappearing hinting at a darker mystery which ties in book banning and library funding.

I enjoyed reading the names of real-life librarians who made their way to the book!
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

8 thoughts on “#IMWAYR – January 17, 2016

  1. I saw Over-Scheduled Andrew by Ashley Spires in a bookstore today but didn’t purchase it. I didn’t have time to read it. Now I wish I had picked it up. Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Olympics by Chris Grabenstein is on my to read list. I’m glad that to hear that it is a good, if not better, than the original.

  2. While I absolutely adore oliver jeffers, I have to confess that I haven’t read any of the Hueys books yet – nor have I read The Day the Crayons Quit – I don’t know why, really – but I guess I’d have to remedy that. I also have yet to begin the first book in the Lemoncello series – glad to see that it’s continuing and getting better too!

  3. Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Olympics by Chris Grabenstein – I haven’t gotten to this one yet. I loved the first one and read it to a group of 3rd and 4th graders. They loved it. I will have to check with one out.

  4. I can’t wait to get to the new Lemoncello. My 10 yo read it and loved it!
    Haven’t been able to find Ashley Spires new one, I’ll keep my eye out for it!

  5. I think I need Over Scheduled Andrew. I love The Most Magnificent Thing so it would probably appeal anyway, but I am often over scheduled too. 😉

Leave a comment