Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I helped set up for the library’s Children’s Book Fair yesterday morning and got to see a wonderful performance to kick-off the event. It was a very interactive interpretation of Anansi and the Moss-Colored Rock. I was really impressed and I hoped it got the kids-and their parents- excited for some literary fun!

Tables were set up to do all kinds of crafts. A reading area promoted all kinds of books in different languages. Plus, there were a couple of caped crusaders going by the names of Bookman and Bookwoman! And,every child got to take home a free book!

This week, I posted:

New Releases: September 16, 2014– Read my reviews for:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– I’m celebrating the happy moments that transpired during the past week.


A delightful new series (Mini Myths) that introduces the youngest of readers to mythology in fun relatable ways! Information about the actual myths are included. I love how playful the illustrations are. For example, in the Hercules book, the blocks depict the different tasks he undertook!

Julia's House for Lost Creatures by Ben Hatke [***]
Julia’s House for Lost Creatures by Ben Hatke [***]

Sweet story about a very independent resourceful girl who opens up her home to wayward creatures. Cute illustrations, very expressive. I really wanted more from this- perhaps it can crossover to a graphic novel?

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien [****]
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien [****]

Expect a review of this on Monday for Hobbit Day!

The Flat Rabbit by Barour Oskarsson [**]
The Flat Rabbit by Barour Oskarsson [**]

Delightfully dark picture book about a dog and a rat that stumble upon a “flat” rabbit. Think Weekend of Bernie’s for kids.

Nana in the City by Lauren Castillo [***]
Nana in the City by Lauren Castillo [***]

I decided to read this because we were having a Grandparents Day Celebration at work. This was a super touching story about a boy visiting his grandmother in the city. The illustrations are superb.

Guess What? by Mem Fox, Illustrated by Vivienne Goodman [**]
Guess What? by Mem Fox, Illustrated by Vivienne Goodman [**]

A retired elementary school teacher was so excited to find a copy of this book that she made me read it before buying it. A fun picture book that will have readers guessing along! This would be a hit during a Halloween themed story time. The illustrations were something else!

I read these two titles for our upcoming Family Book Club:


Expect reviews for them later this week!

Expect reviews for these books during my New Releases post on Tuesday:

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m still reading Michelle Knudsen’s Evil Librarian.

Have a great reading week!

11 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (113) #IMWAYR – September 21, 2014

  1. Wow. You accomplished so much reading this week. Amulet graphic novels are the number 1 favorite books in my school. I enjoyed Julia’s House for Lost Creatures. Nana in the City’s cover full of fall colors is so appealing.

  2. What a wonderful thing your library does with its book fair, Earl. Our library doesn’t do anything like that, but our school’s fair is coming soon, so that will be fun! Wow, a lot of great books here. Thanks for the shout out for Guess What-looks great. Have a good week!

  3. I am still chuckling over Weekend at Bernie’s for kids. I love a dark and twisted PB so I will be looking for that one for sure. The Mini Myths series looks terrific! I haven’t seen those before and am excited to get a couple for my Children’s Lit class. Can’t wait to see Marla Frazee’s new book.

  4. Amulet and Smile (as a reread) are on my list. I think you’ll get to them before me. I have The Farmer/Clown on hold at the library. I was waiting for Julia/Lost Creature to go further too. Beth wrote that it had an abrupt ending and I agreed.

  5. The Hobbit has been on my list for quite some time, so it was nice to see your positive review. I wish I had time to get to all of these books on my TBR list. Wouldn’t that be magical?

  6. I love the idea of the mini-myths! So great! I will have to get some to share with Trent.
    Also love your comparison for Flat Rabbit! 🙂
    I’m glad you liked Amulet and Smile–two of my favorite graphic novels.
    I took a Tolkien class in college, and he is truly a genius world builder!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  7. What a lot of great reading. I’m such a sucker for some picture books, but I’m trying to guess all of the Cybils Middle Grade Fiction nominees and get them read before they are nominated! Have to think about Hobbit Day!

  8. My 12 year old girl enjoyed Ben Hatke’s Zita the Spacegirl – the cover of Julia show that distinctive Hatke-artwork-style. Loved hearing about your book week and the many events in your area! 🙂

Leave a comment