Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Halloween and Gratitude.

Picture Book Month Reading Challenge: Part 1– Read my reviews for:

Waiting is Not Easy! by Mo Willems [***]- A delightful addition to the series! 22 books in and still going strong!
Waiting is Not Easy! by Mo Willems [***]- A delightful addition to the series! 22 books in and still going strong!
BirdCatDog by Lee Nordling, Illustrated by Meritxell Bosch [**]- A rather interesting wordless graphic novel that has three separate yet intersecting storylines.
BirdCatDog by Lee Nordling, Illustrated by Meritxell Bosch [**]- A rather interesting wordless graphic novel that has three separate yet intersecting storylines.

Cybils-Logo-2014-Rnd1

The CrossoverThe Crossover by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I can’t
For the life of me
See what
The buzz is all about
For this book

I’ve been known
To like
Other books
Involving sports
And I’ve been more
Tolerant
Of books
Told in verse

It just seemed
Corny
Like a haunted maize
And I couldn’t wait
For it to end

View all my reviews

Mikis and the DonkeyMikis and the Donkey by Bibi Dumon Tak
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A surprisingly small book with a big heart. Taking place in Greece, Mikis receives a donkey from his grandparents. I love the relationships in this book- family, friends, classmates, and even with the teacher. I even enjoyed the bond between boy and his animal best friend. While this isn’t getting lots of buzz and will probably remain a quiet story, seek it out.

View all my reviews

The Key That Swallowed Joey PigzaThe Key That Swallowed Joey Pigza by Jack Gantos
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize you can get so absorbed in an audio book that you totally end up walking past your house as I did with this.

I haven’t read any of the earlier books in the series but that didn’t really matter. Everything about this will hook you right in.

I was actually worried about Joey’s well-being throughout. This dealt with heavy issues- ADHD, depression, and broken families. It’s hard to make any of those subjects funny but I ended up laughing out loud on multiple occasions.

Joey Pigza is a completely memorable character and he will stay in my mind. I wish him well.

View all my reviews

Miss EmilyMiss Emily by Burleigh Muten
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I wasn’t particularly impressed by this story-told-in-verse (another one!) but aptly so since this is about Emily Dickinson. Based on real people and real situations but fictionalized, it reminded me of the movie Finding Neverland when J.M Barrie meets a family that inspires him to write Peter Pan.

I am a big fan of Matt Phelan’s illustrations though.

View all my reviews

pbmlogo

My H titles:

Hunters of the Great Forest by Dennis Nolan [**]- Great illustrations in this fun wordless picture book.
Hunters of the Great Forest by Dennis Nolan [**]- Great illustrations in this fun wordless picture book.

Hansel and Gretel by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Lorenzo Mattotti [*]- I had high hopes for this graphic novel except it's not a graphic novel but just a typical picture book. And the illustrations were too dark, which I guess is the style, but you may have as well drawn the most beautiful things and just spill black ink all over them. The best part of the book were the historical context of Hansel and Gretel.
Hansel and Gretel by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Lorenzo Mattotti [*]- I had high hopes for this graphic novel except it’s not a graphic novel but just a typical picture book. And the illustrations were too dark, which I guess is the style, but you may have as well drawn the most beautiful things and just spill black ink all over them. The best part of the book were the historical context of Hansel and Gretel.

My I books:

I'm My Own Dog by David Ezra Stein  [***]- I surprisingly did not hate this book. It was cute without being too cute. I will definitely be recommending this.
I’m My Own Dog by David Ezra Stein [***]- I surprisingly did not hate this book. It was cute without being too cute. I will definitely be recommending this.

If You Were a Dogby Jamie Swenson, Illustrated by Chris Raschka [**]- This would make for a good story time read-aloud. Chris Raschka's illustrations did not make me want to gouge my eyes out this time around.
If You Were a Dogby Jamie Swenson, Illustrated by Chris Raschka [**]- This would make for a good story time read-aloud. Chris Raschka’s illustrations did not make me want to gouge my eyes out this time around.

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’ll be reading more books for CYBILS and Picture Book Month. I’ve also gotten into the habit of listening to audiobooks on my way to and from work!

Have a great reading week!

7 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (120) #IMWAYR – November 9, 2014

  1. Wow, quite a few great books here, Earl. I will need to look for the new Elephant and PIggie-so fun, and Bird Cat Dog sounds good. I have a student studying comics & he will enjoy it, I think. Sorry you didn’t like Crossover. I liked it a lot, thought it full of the stuff of adolescents, siblings, etc. But, each of us enjoys some and not others. Glad you are honest! Have a great week.

  2. You have been a reading machine this week! I totally get the being so absorbed in a book that you walked past your house. I’ve been there myself. How did I miss the release of a new Elephant and Piggie book? I must be slipping.

  3. Wow! This new Elephant and Piggie is a MUST own for my room and I also want to read the Jeanette Winter title. Looks amazing. I have Everyday is Malala Day (the title in Canada for We Stand with you)

  4. Your review of The Crossover makes me laugh. I planned to read it, and now I will have your poem in my mind when I begin. 🙂

Leave a comment