This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Reading Resolutions: November Update

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating a miscellany of things- PiBoIdMo, short stories, Giving Tuesday, and festive bookstore moments.

I also updated:

To Be Read in 2015

My Most Favorite Favorites

littlered
Little Red Gliding Hood by Tara Lazar, Illustrated by Troy Cummings

[***] A fun breezy story with fairy tale characters competing in an ice skating contest. Little Red is in need of a partner and finds it in the most unlikely place.

hanukka
Is It Hanukkah Yet? by Chris Barash, Illustrated by Alessandra Psacharopulo

[***] Winter comes. Snow falls. Animals slumber. People gather. These are some telltale signs Hanukkah is just around the corner. Celebrate the Festival of Lights with this charming picture book perfect for readers curious about the holiday!

redhat
The Red Hat by David Teague, Illustrated by Antoinette Portis

[**] First of all, people will love the textured illustrations in this picture book about love and friendship featuring a boy named Billy Hightower and a girl wearing a red hat.

rainbow
The Rainbow Goblins by Ul De Rico

[***] This book has been oddly popular at our store. Illustrations are great. The story rather dark which I think is part of the appeal.

aande
Amelia and Eleanor Go for a Ride by Pam Muñoz Ryan, Illustrated by Brian Selznick

[***] Based on a true event, this is a fictionalized account of two incredible women- and friends- who went on two exhilarating adventures- in the air and on the road- in one magical night.

thanksgiving

[***] Buddy and his best friend- an elderly eccentric- don’t see eye to eye as they usually do when she tells him to invite the bully over for Thanksgiving dinner.

You Don't Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive DifferenceYou Don’t Need a Title to Be a Leader: How Anyone, Anywhere, Can Make a Positive Difference by Mark Sanborn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A quick read that mixes anecdotes and principles to show what one can do to become a leader not only in a work environment but in other situations even in everyday life. You may want to have pen and paper handy while you take down ideas you’d want to implement in your life.
View all my reviews

must-read-2015-logo

Between the World and MeBetween the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Powerful. Important. Brutally and scarily honest truth that will make readers question their beliefs and hopefully spur them into action.

Even before I read this book I thought: We live in a world where it seems we fight any sort of injustice with hashtags and marches, indignation and anger-in-the-moment mentality. But while this is good to bring awareness, it definitely isn’t the only thing that needs to done. Things have gotten out of control and we cannot sit back and be innocent bystanders anymore especially if we want things to change. I hope this book will ask readers what roles they are willing to take on to make a difference.
View all my reviews

A Christmas MemoryA Christmas Memory by Truman Capote
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Truman Capote shares a festive memory about him and his best friend (an elderly distant relative) during one Christmas season. A perfect read for the holidays.
View all my reviews

The Sittaford MysteryThe Sittaford Mystery by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge] [Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]
View all my reviews

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!
Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

8 thoughts on “What Are You Reading? (175) #IMWAYR – December 6, 2015

  1. I also read Is it Hanukkah Yet this week. I think it was one of my favourite Hanukkah books I read this week, although I think I loved Nonna’s Hanukkah Surprise more. Thanks for the reminder about Between the World and Me. It was on my list, but I finally put a hold on the audiobook version.

  2. I will look for the holiday books, Earl, and The Red Hat, too. I need to read Between The World and Me, just haven’t taken the time yet. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Between the World and Me sounds like a book I should recommend for my book club at my institution. The Rainbow Goblins does look intriguing – I shall have to find that one in our library.

  4. I fully agree with your review of Between the World and Me. I just finished it a few weeks ago, and it made me be quite introspective. I’ve been working on a review post for it, and I am not quite satisfied with what I have written thus far, so I am still working on it.

Leave a comment